|
|
Education
Indexes and Databases available electronically
|
|
If you have questions about or problems
using these databases, please click
here.
|
-
Click here for a
complete alphabetical list of databases.
|
|
| Academic Search Complete has
citations and full text articles from peer-reviewed journals in social
sciences, humanities, music, education, computer sciences, engineering,
language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences,
ethnic studies, etc. |
| Children's Literature
Comprehensive Database (CLCD) "is an acquisition, research, and
reference service that offers more than 1,200,000 MARC records and more
than 300,000 reviews of children's books--all full text searchable from
33 review sources." |
| Education Full Text indexes and
abstracts periodicals and books dealing with all aspects of education.
It also includes full text/full image articles. |
| The Educator's Reference Desk
provides "access [to] AskERIC's 2,000+ lesson plans, 3,000+
links to online education information, and 200+ question archive
responses." |
| Emerald provides full text
articles from hundreds of journals in the fields of criminal justice,
economics, education, engineering, healthcare, librarianship,
management, marketing, and more. |
| ERIC (from EBSCO) "contains
more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional
information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and
education-related journals." |
| ERIC (from CSA) "contains
more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional
information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and
education-related journals." |
| ERIC "sponsored by the
Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of
Education, produces the world's premier database of journal and
non-journal education literature. " |
| Gale Virtual Reference Library
includes subject encyclopedias and other reference books on the arts,
business, education, biological and physical sciences, history and
other social sciences, medicine, and other subjects. |
| IngentaConnect has millions of
citations and abstracts from more than 28,000 journals. |
| JSTOR is a full image database of
back issues of scholarly journals in African American studies,
anthropology, Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education,
finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political
science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. |
| LearningExpressLibrary
"provides a completely interactive online learning platform of practice
tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons, students,
and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must
pass." Use it to prepare for a GED or EMT exam, the GREs, MCATs, ACTs,
or just about any other test. First time users must create their own
Username and Password. |
| Mental Measurements
Yearbook "contains fulltext information about and reviews of all
English-language standardized tests covering educational skills,
personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as
included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks." A second
browser window will open automatically, where you will have to check
Mental Measurements Yearbook and then click on Open Selected
Databases.[Uses Pop-Up Windows] |
| NAESP gives access to several
newsletters via UTPA Library's membership in the National Association
of Elementary School Principals. These
include Leadership Compass, Research Roundup,
Middle Matters, and Student and Community News
Today. Use 000021288 for the ID# and edinburg
for the City. |
| National Center for Education
Statistics lets you search for schools and school districts, and
provides a myriad of statistics. |
| Professional Development
Collection "includes full text from 440 journals (150 with images),
and abstract and index coverage for 530 professional development
titles." |
| Psychology & Behavioral
Sciences Collection includes 350 peer reviewed journals, many PDF
images and over 450 full text articles. |
| PsycINFO "contains more than
one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters,
books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of
psychology {and psychological aspects of other disciplines]. Journal
coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international
material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35
languages." |
| Teacher Reference Center (TRC) --
This new education database provides key education topics such as
assessment, continuing education, current pedagogical research,
curriculum development, instructional media, language arts, literary
standards, science and mathematics, and more for K-12 education
students, teachers, and librarians. It includes an index of over
260 titles from the most popular education trade journals, periodicals,
and books. |
| Web of Knowledge contains
three citation databases - Science Citation Index Expanded,
Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities
Citation Index, which include citations and some links to full text
articles from 1975 to the present. We ask all participants to use the
LOG OUT button at the end of each search session when they are
finished, so that others may use Web of Science. |
| Wiley InterScience
provides full image access to over 400 journals from the Wiley
publishers. Disciplines include business, education, law, and
psychology, in addition to a variety of sciences and engineering. Click
on Journal Search to look for articles. |
|
|
Return to the top of this page.
|
by
vcarrillo
—
last modified
06-12-2008 10:43
|