Academic Search Complete has citations and
full text articles from peer-reviewed journals in social sciences,
humanities, music, education, computer sciences, engineering, language
and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic
studies, etc. |
Access: The Supplementary Index to
Periodicals is part of the John Gordon Burke Publisher, Inc. Research
Center. It covers local, regional, and national magazines (typically
not scholarly journals) that are not indexed in the Readers' Guide
to Periodical Literature Username: utpa Password:
DQPTIHU. |
ACLS Humanities E-Book (formerly
History E-Book) from ACLS provides electronic books in history "that
remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, are frequently
cited in the literature, and are currently not widely available." |
ACM: Association for Computing Machinery
includes magazines and journal articles, conference proceedings, etc.
Only the journal articles are available in full text; click on
Digital Library to search for them. |
ACP Medicine "bring[s] to its
subscribers the assurance of authoritative, evidence-based
recommendations presented in readily accessible formats, with the
ultimate goal of strengthening medical decision-making for the
practicing physician." |
Adherents.com "is a growing
collection of over 41,000 adherent statistics and religious geography
citations -- references to published membership/adherent statistics and
congregation statistics for over 4,200 religions, churches,
denominations, religious bodies, faith groups, tribes, cultures,
movements, ultimate concerns, etc." |
AGRICOLA (from EBSCO) "contains
bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's
National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970
and includes more than 2.5 million citations." |
AGRICOLA is the National
Agricultural Library's online catalog and "encompasses all aspects of
agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary
sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and
fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics,
extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and
environmental sciences." |
Alcohol
Studies Database "contains over 80,000 citations for journal
articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and
audio-visual materials." |
Alternative Health Watch
"provides full text for 180 publications in the collection, including
full text for many peer-reviewed journals...[with] in-depth coverage
across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and
alternative medicine dating back to 1990." |
allmusic lets you search by genre,
country, instrument, mood, theme, and more. |
Alternative Press Index provides
citations to hundreds of periodicals presenting alternative views on
political, social, economic, and cultural issues. |
America: History and Life "is a
complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States
and Canada from prehistory to the present." |
The American Civil War: Letters and
Diaries contains thousands of primary documents about the U.S.
Civil War. |
American Chemical Society provides full
image articles from dozens of chemistry journals. Click on search
the journals to search for articles. |
American
FactFinder has information from the United States 2000 census. |
American Film Scripts Online contains
hundreds of scripts by hundreds of writers "together with detailed,
fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the
scripts. When complete, the collection will include more than 1,000
scripts and over 100,000 scenes of life as portrayed in the
movies." |
American Memory from
the Library of Congress "provides free and open access ... to written
and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints,
maps, and sheet music that document the American experience." |
American Occupational Therapy Association
has bibliographic information on occupational therapy and related
disciplines. Click on OT Search to start your search. |
American Periodicals Series Online "contains
digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals that
originated between 1741, when Andrew Bradford's American Magazine and
Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine were launched, and 1900" as well
as materials from the Twentieth Century. This link takes you to
Criminal Justice Periodicals Index, from which you click on
APSOnline. |
Annual Reviews has citations
and abstracts for biomedical, physical, and social sciences. |
Anthropological Index to
Current Periodicals in The Anthropology Library at the British Museum
(incorporating the former Royal Anthropological Institute library) |
AnthroSource provides abstracts
to over thirty publications of the American Anthropological
Association, and complete articles to members of the AAA. |
Applied Science and Technology
Full Text provides citations, abstracts, and some full text/full
image from over 500 engineering, technology, and applied science
publications. |
National
Archeological Database Reports module, "is an expanded
bibliographic inventory of ... reports on archeological investigation
and planning, mostly of limited circulation." |
Art Full Text provides citations
and abstracts on the arts, architecture, design, cinema, etc., from
magazines published around the world. It also includes full text/full
image articles. |
Arte Publico Hispanic Historical
Collection presents a digital collection of historical content
pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. |
arXiv.org archives preprints in physics,
computer science, mathematics, nonlinear
sciences, and quantitative biology. |
ASME Digital Library is the American
Society of Mechanical Engineer's primary repository of current and
archival literature. Our collection consists of 25 full-text journal
titles that focus on topics such as applied mechanics, computing and
information science, robotics, solar energy, nanotechnology,
turbomachinery, and more. [Coverage varies]. |
Astrophysics Data System from
NASA includes abstracts (and some full text) on astronomy and
astrophysics, instrumentation, physics and geophysics, and Los Alamos
preprints. |
|
| back to top |
Bibliography of Native North
Americans "is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of
native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers
a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations,
gaming, governance, legend, and literacy... Dates of coverage for
included content range from the sixteenth century to the present." |
Biography.com from A&E |
Biological Abstracts 1969-Present covers
international journals in the life sciences. |
BioMed Central "is an
independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free
access to... biomedical research" it publishes online. |
BioOne "provides a unique aggregation of
high-impact bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a
wide-array of today's most pressing topics, including global warming,
stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation." |
Books in print.com provides title, author,
ISBN number and publisher information for millions of books. |
British Periodicals Collection
provides "facsimile page images and searchable full text for more than
500 British periodicals published between 1681 and 1921." |
Business Full Text provides citations
and abstracts to hundreds of business periodicals. It also includes
full text/full image articles. |
Business Knowledge
Research from The Conference Board has full-text research
reports on the latest issues in business management and US and global
economics. |
Business Source Complete
"is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the
ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content...[with]
indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business
journals back to 1886 ...[and] searchable cited references provided for
more than 1,200 journals," plus company profiles from Datamonitor. |
|
| back to top |
Cabell's Directory of Publishing
Opportunities provides contact information, publication guidelines,
and other information to help professors and students get their
manuscripts published. Click on Members to use Cabell's. |
CCH Tax Service First time users will
have to create a username and password. |
CHARTing Health Information
for Texas provides "a comprehensive collection of links to publicly
available, geographically discrete health data for the state of Texas."
Its web links include causes of death, maternal and child health,
economic, social, and other demographic factors, and much more. |
ChemFinder.Com includes
chemical structures, physical properties, hyperlinks to more
information, and links to other databases. Searching is
free but you must register. |
ChemWeb.Com "the largest online
chemical community in the world ... combines a huge range of
information for those in research chemistry, the chemicals industries
and related disciplines." |
Children's Literature Comprehensive
Database (CLCD) "is an acquisition, research, and reference service
that offers more than 1,200,000 MARC records and more than 300,000
reviews of children's books--all full text searchable from 33 review
sources." |
CIA World Factbook is updated regularly throughout
the year. |
CINAHL Plus with Full Text indexes
over 3000 nursing, allied health, and related journals,
including full text for over 330 journals, as far back as 1937. |
CiteSeer is a
"scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses
primarily on the literature in computer and information science." |
Classical Music Library "the
world's largest multi-label database of Classical music recordings for
listening and learning in libraries ... ranges from vocal and choral
music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera" and
includes over 50,000 recordings from over 1800 composers by thousands
of ensembles and artists. |
Cochrane Collaboration includes
abstracts of articles on evidence-based medicine. |
The Cochrane Library " is a unique
source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of
interventions in health care...The Cochrane Library is designed to
provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health
care and to inform those receiving care." |
Collins English Dictionary
includes multilingual translation dictionaries for to Spanish, French,
Italian, and German |
ComAbstracts (from CIOS) contains "article abstracts, books,
bibliographic records, and other sources of relevance to researchers,
scholars, and students interested in fields related to human
communication studies." |
ComDisDome (Communication
Sciences and Disorders Dome) indexes and abstracts journal articles,
books, dissertations, grants, and other web sites dealing with
speech-language pathology and audiology. |
Commerce Business Daily
(CBDNet) "is the Government's official FREE electronic version of the
Commerce Business Daily (CBD)." |
Communication and Mass Media Complete, a
merger of Mass Media Articles Index and CommSearch,
"provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related
to communication and mass media." |
Computer Source provides the
"latest information on trends in high technology ...with abstracts and
indexing for over 150 titles." |
Consumer Health Complete "is
designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall
understanding of health-related topics. This full text database covers
topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness,
nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health,
etc." |
ConsumerSearch "is a
Web-based publishing company that helps consumers find answers about
what products are top-rated or best bets in their class." |
CQ
Researcher "offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and
social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international
affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S.
economy." |
Criminal Justice
Abstracts "provides comprehensive coverage of the major journals in
criminology and related disciplines, extensive coverage of books, and
unparalleled access to reports from government and nongovernmental
agencies." |
Criminal Justice
Periodicals Index provides citations/abstracts from around 200
journals, with full text/full image articles from more than one fourth
of them. |
Current Research @ provides
complete theses and dissertations (from Dissertations Abstracts)
written by UTPA students since 1996. |
|
| back to top |
Datastream contains
more than two million financial instruments, securities and indicators
for over 175 countries in 60 markets. Holding up to 50 years of
history and over 8,000 different fields, it provides access to over one
million time series. Datastream is available only at the College
of Business and in the Library. Ask at the Reference Desk for
more information. |
Dissertations and Theses
(Dissertation Abstracts) "is the single, authoritative source for
information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses... from
over 1,000 graduate schools and universities." Make sure only
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - A&I is checked off to
search just Digital Dissertations. |
Digital National Security Archive has "the
most comprehensive collection available of significant primary
documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945." |
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access
Journals) "covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and
scholarly journals." |
|
| back to top |
Early Encounters in North America contains
"over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early
encounters." |
Early English Books Online includes
full image works from 15th, 16th, and 17th century English literature.
It includes lesser known works, as well as the classics, along with
"prayer books, pamphlets, and proclamations; almanacs, calendars, and
many other primary sources." |
EBSCO eBooks includes reference material,
as well as classics. Only one user can look at a specific book at a
time. Patrons need to set up an account to "check out" books. |
EBSCO en Espanol provides
directions to many different databases in Spanish. |
EBSCOhost provides access to dozens of
databases, in many different disciplines, and at different academic
levels. |
Econlit "the American Economic
Association's electronic database, is the world's foremost source of
references to economic literature." It contains over 700,000 records,
with some links to full text. |
Economia y Negocios "is the result of
a collaborative effort between EBSCO Publishing and ESAN (Escuela de
Administracibsp;¹ Negocios para Graduados). This continuously updated
bibliographic database is an indispensable tool for research conducted
in the areas of business and economics." |
Education Full Text indexes and
abstracts periodicals and books dealing with all aspects of education.
It also includes full text/full image articles. |
EEVL Xtra cross-searches 20
databases, including content from over 50 publishers, to find articles,
books, technical reports and data, eprints, the latest research,
industry news, job announcements and quality websites, etc, in
engineering, mathematics and computing. It includes some full text
articles. |
Ei
Engineering Village includes Compendex Web and a variety of other
engineering sources/information. |
Eighteenth Century Collections Online has
"the digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the
18th Century [including] full-text searching of approximately 33
million pages." Some of the subjects covered are history, science,
philosophy, literature, the arts, and law. |
eMedicine "is the largest and most
current clinical knowledge base available to physicians and health
professionals." |
Emerald provides full text articles from
hundreds of journals in the fields of criminal justice, economics,
education, engineering, healthcare, librarianship, management,
marketing, and more. |
Encyclopedia of
Music in Canada "aims to describe Canada's musical heritage and
culture in all its breadth and depth: the past and present
manifestations of popular, folk, religious, concert, and other forms of
music, as well as the educational, critical, administrative, and
commercial aspects of music in Canada." |
Energy Citations
Database "contains bibliographic records for energy and
energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department
of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research &
Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission
(AEC)." |
English
Spanish Dictionary (WordReference.com) from Harper Collins also has
a Diccionario Ingles
Espanol. |
ERIC (from EBSCO) "contains more than
2,200 digests along with references for additional information and
citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and
education-related journals." |
ERIC "sponsored by the Institute of
Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, produces
the world's premier database of journal and non-journal education
literature. " |
Essay and General Literature Index "is a
bibliographic database that cites essays and articles contained in
collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United
States, Great Britain, and Canada." The index "focuses on the
humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from
economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary
works, drama, and film." |
|
| back to top |
Filmakers Library Online "provides
award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum-race
and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies,
multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the
environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events,
psychology, arts, literature, and more." |
Financial Times allows you to "search and
read over 8.5 million articles from 3,000 periodicals worldwide, most
of them for free." |
Fuente Academica "is a unique collection
of scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish
publishers...[which] offers full text content to many academic areas
including business & economics, medical sciences, political
science, law, computer science, library & information sciences,
literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology." |
Funk & Wagnalls New World
Encyclopedia "provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a
variety of subject areas." |
|
| back to top |
Gale databases have information on
literature, biography, science, and Texas. |
Gale Virtual Reference Library includes
subject encyclopedias and other reference books on the arts, business,
education, biological and physical sciences, history and other social
sciences, medicine, and other subjects. |
The George I.
Sanchez Papers: This UT Austin site contains over 450 digitized
photographs from a collection of materials from George I. Sanchez
(1906-1972). Dr. Sanchez was a leader in Texas Civil Rights and
Educational Issues. |
The Gerritsen Collection: Women's
Online History, 1543--1945, is "the greatest single source for the
study of women's history in the world, with materials spanning four
centuries and fifteen languages...[with] two million page images
exactly as they appeared in the original printed works." |
GPO
Access is a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that
provides the official, published version of important information
produced by all branches and agencies the Federal Government. |
GreenFile: This new database covers
alternative fuel sources, energy conservation, global warming,
natural resources, pollution, recycling, and beyond. Anyone with
an interest in environmental issues and who needs resource material
regarding these subjects will find this database to be an invaluable
tool. |
Grove Music Online "comprises the full
text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, ...
The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, ... and The New Grove
Dictionary of Jazz ... Grove Music Online continues to grow with
both newly commissioned material and more articles from other Grove
dictionaries." |
|
| back to top |
The Handbook of Texas "is a
multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture
sponsored by the Texas State Historical Association and the General
Libraries at UT Austin." |
HAPI Hispanic American
Periodical Index (HAPI) "is your source for over 265,000
journal article citations about Central America, South America, the
Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United
States." |
HarpWeek "consists of the pages of
Harper's Weekly, scanned as images", from 1857 to 1893,
with searchable full text to 1912. |
HCI Bibliography "provides a
bibliographic database [of over 20,000 records] on Human-Computer
Interaction." |
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
"provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e.,
questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding
schemes/manuals ... vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields,
psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and
information science." |
Infotrac Health Reference
Center-Academic has a wide range of articles on health and
medicine, many of which are full-text. |
Health Source - Consumer
Edition provides "information on many health topics including the
medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports
medicine and general health;... features searchable full text for
nearly 150 journals,...[and] is updated on a daily basis. |
Health Source:
Nursing/Academic Edition "provides nearly 550 scholarly full text
journals focusing on many medical disciplines,...features abstracts and
indexing for nearly 850 journals,...[and] is updated on a daily
basis. |
HeritageQuest Online, which
"provides libraries a unique, growing collection of research materials
for tracing family history and American culture," includes complete
U.S. federal Census, 1790--1930, obituaries, Freedman's Savings &
Trust Company bank records, records on veterans of the American
Revolution, and more. |
HighWire
Press "is one of the two largest archives of free full-text science
on Earth ... assisting in the online publication of ...[hundreds of
thousands of] free full-text articles." |
Historical Abstracts is a "complete
reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present
(excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America:
History and Life)." |
History
Cooperative is a combined effort by The American Historical
Association, the Organization of American Historians, the University of
Illinois Press, and the National Academy Press to create this resource
for historians on the Web, making the full text of current issues of
the American Historical Review and the Journal of American History
available electronically to members of the AHA and OAH and to
institutions that subscribe to the print versions of these
journals. |
Humanities Full Text cites articles
from scholarly journals and specialized magazines in the humanities,
including archaeology, art, classical studies, communications, dance,
film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics,
social criticism, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and
theology. It also includes full text/full image articles. |
Humanities International Index "provides
cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals . . .
[including] a multitude of international journals, [plus] books and
reference works. . . as well as original creative works including
poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations." |
Hoover's Online is a free
subset of Hoover's business information. |
|
| back to top |
ICPSR (the Inter-university Consortium for
Political and Social Research) "established in 1962, is an integral
part of the infrastructure of social science research. [It] maintains
and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for
research and instruction...ICPSR does not provide publications,
reports, or ready-made statistics,... [but instead supplies] the
numeric raw data used to create publications, reports, and
figures." |
IEEE Xplore Electronic Library Online has
nearly a third of the world's current literature in electrical
engineering, electronics, and computer science, including full text
database of journals, conference proceedings and standards in the
field. |
IIMP, the International Index to
Music Periodicals, "covers nearly all aspects of the world of
music, from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes." |
Images of America: A History of American
Life in Images and Texts "presents the everyday people, places, and
events that have shaped American history and culture. The collection,
drawn from Arcadia Publishing's award-winning line of local history
books, features images and texts assembled by thousands of local
experts." |
IMSLP stands for the
International Music Score Library Project and "attempts to create a
virtual library containing all public domain musical scores, as well as
scores from composers who are willing to share their music with the
world without charge." |
In the First Person "lets
users perform in-depth field and keyword searches across all letters,
diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies within scholarly
materials that are freely available on the Web and Alexander Street
databases." If full text is not available, information about the
archive where documents are stored is provided. |
INFOMINE "is a virtual library of
Internet resources... [which] contains useful Internet resources such
as databases, electronic journals, electronic books, bulletin boards,
mailing lists, online library card catalogs, articles, directories of
researchers, and many other types of information." |
Information Science & Technology
Abstracts (ISTA) "indexes journal articles from more than 450
publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings
and patents, with ongoing comprehensive coverage of the most important
periodicals in this field." |
IngentaConnect has millions of citations
and abstracts from more than 28,000 journals. |
Interactive Health
Tutorials These interactive health tutorials, presented by
MedlinePlus, include the symptoms, diagnosis and treatment for a
variety of diseases and conditions, as well as surgeries, prevention,
and wellness. |
Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts
"provides abstracts and indexing for literature related to personal
computing products and developments in business, the Internet, the
home, and all other applied areas...[from] over 400 of the most
important trade publications, mainstream computer magazines, and
professional journals." |
IOP, the Institute of Physics, offers
full text physics magazines, full image articles from dozens of
journals, and other physics information. |
iSafetyNet.US, the "Health and Human Services Web
Navigator...provides customized...cybrarian services for individuals
and organizations." |
|
| back to top |
Journal Citation Reports (JCR): Science
Edition is the leading authority for evaluating the impact of cited
references in science and indexes over 5900 international science
journals. |
Journal Citation Reports (JCR): Social
Sciences Edition is the leading authority for evaluating the impact
of cited journals in social sciences and indexes over 1700 social
science journals. |
Journals@Ovid provides citations,
abstracts, and references to articles from nursing and other
medical journals, and some full text. |
JSTOR is a full image database of back
issues of scholarly journals in African American studies, anthropology,
Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education, finance, history,
literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population
studies, sociology, and statistics. |
|
|
back to top
|
Knovel provides access to reference
texts, guides, handbooks useful in the fields of Civil Engineering and
Construction Materials, Environment and Environmental Engineering,
Civil Engineering and Engineering Management, and Mechanics and
Mechanical Engineering, and covers subjects such as material
properties, process and design information, best practices, equations
and formulations, and more. |
|
|
back to top
|
Latin American Women Writers brings
together "the most important writers from 19 countries, as well as the
works of the principal feminists, in one single collection [including]
... literary works, memoirs, feminist essays, and other materials" from
the colonial period to the present." |
LearningExpressLibrary "provides a
completely interactive online learning platform of practice tests and
tutorial course series designed to help patrons, students, and adult
learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass."
Use it to prepare for a GED or EMT exam, the GREs, MCATs, ACTs, or just
about any other test. First time users must create their own Username
and Password. |
Legal Collection "contains full text for
nearly 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals." |
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe has
"full text company news & financial information...full text
federal, state & international legal materials...full text &
abstracted medical & health information...general reference
sources" and national and international news. |
Library, Information Science & Technology
Abstracts "is the oldest continuously produced database covering
the field of information science, [and covers such fields as]
librarianship, online information retrieval, information management,
search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the
information industry, scholarly communication, and electronic
publishing." |
Library Literature and Information
Science Full Text "indexes articles and book reviews of key library
and information science periodicals published in the United States and
elsewhere...Books, chapters in collected works such as conference
proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets are also indexed." It
also includes full text/full image articles. |
The Library of Congress includes documents
and recordings from American history and culture, including digitized
collections from around the world, legislative and other governmental
information, and much more. |
Library of Texas searches
catalogs of dozens of public and academic libraries, and dozens of
commercial databases, all at the same time. |
Literary databases
(Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select,
Dictionary of Literary Biography) have " in-depth information on the
lives and writings of nearly 100,000 authors along with critical
reaction to their works." |
Literature Resource Center is an
"all-inclusive [Gale/InfoTrac] database [that] contains information on
both classical and contemporary authors and their works." |
|
| back to top |
MasterFILE Premier "offers
information on a broad variety of subjects, including ... searchable
full text for over 1,820 journals ... searchable full text for nearly
5,000 Magill's Book Reviews ... over 1.7 million company records from
Dun & Bradstreet, and much more." |
MAS Ultra: School Edition "covers
general reference, business, consumer health, general health, general
science and multi-cultural titles," and includes over 700 full text or
full image periodicals, plus reference books, primary source documents,
and much more. |
MathSciNet "is the searchable Web
database providing access to ... Mathematical Reviews and
Current Mathematical Publications, ... produced by the American
Mathematical Society." The latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader (4.x)
should be used for this product. |
MedicLatina "is a Spanish language
collection of medical research and investigative journals published by
renowned Latin American medical publishers...[which] provides access to
full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals." |
Medieval
Feminist Index "covers over 350 international journals as well as
book reviews and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender
during the Middle Ages." |
MEDLINE (EBSCO) indexes more than
4,000 medical journals, published in the United States and dozens of
foreign countries, covering a wide variety of biomedical and related
fields. |
MEDLINEPlus is "goldmine of good
health information from the world's largest medical library, the
National Library of Medicine." |
MEDLINEPlus Informacion de salud
de la Biblioteca Nacional de Medicina. |
Mental Measurements Yearbook
"contains fulltext information about and reviews of all
English-language standardized tests covering educational skills,
personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as
included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks." |
MergentOnline (formerly
FISOnline) has business and financial information
from Mergent, Inc. (formerly Moody's.) (Mergent currently does
not work with older Netscape browsers or with Apple/MacIntosh
computers.) |
metacritic.com "compiles reviews
from respected critics and publications for film, video/dvd, music and
games", with links to the reviews. |
Micromedex has clinical information
about drugs, diseases, acute care, toxicology, and more;
CareNotes has complete, easy-to-understand information to give
to patients about their conditions, in both English and Spanish.
Ask at the Reference Desk for the Username and
Password. |
Middle Search Plus "provides
full text for nearly 140 popular magazines for middle and jr. high
school research" plus biographies, primary source documents, and an
Image Collection of photos, maps and flags. |
Military and Government Collection
provides full text from almost 400 military and general interest
publications ... to bring current news to all branches of the military.
This database also offers indexing and abstracts for over 500
magazines. |
MLA Bibliography " indexes critical
scholarship on literature, language, linguistics and folklore. |
MLA Directory of Periodicals
offers detailed information on over 7,000 journals. |
MTS Lab Training Library provides samples
and interactive training for biology and medical labs,
electrical/engineering safety training, and more. |
|
| back to top |
NASW Clinical Register
"provides a listing of clinical social workers who have met national
standards for education and experience." |
National Archeological
Database Reports module "is an expanded bibliographic inventory of
over 350,000 reports on archeological investigation and planning,
mostly of limited circulation." |
National Cancer Institute, from the
National Cancer Institute (National Institutes of Health) provides
information on types of cancer, clinical trials, treatment and
prevention, and more, from peer-reviewed publications, NCI
publications, and other web sites. |
National Center for Education Statistics
lets you search for schools and school districts, and provides a myriad
of statistics. |
National Council for Science and the
Environment includes online books, Congressional reports,
papers, articles, etc., many of which are full text, from the National Library for the
Environment. |
National Criminal Justice Reference
Service (NCJRS) "contains summaries of more than 180,000 criminal
justice publications." Some of these documents are in our 3rd
floor microfiche collection under the call number HV 7231 .N4. Use the
NCJ number to locate the exact microfiche. |
The National Security Archive
"collects and publishes declassified [U.S. government] documents
acquired through the Freedom of Information Act." |
Natural & Alternative
Treatments has "articles on medical conditions, presenting in an
evidence-based manner the alternative medicine therapies proposed for
use in their treatment...[including information] on herbs and
supplements, functional foods, and other alternative therapies such as
acupuncture and homeopathy." |
Nature Archives provides complete
articles from Nature for the years 1950--1996. |
Nature Biotechnology
Archives has has complete articles for the period March 1983--April
1998. |
Nature Chemical Biology "is a
monthly [full text] multidisciplinary journal providing an
international forum for the timely publication of significant new
research at the interface between chemistry and biology." |
Nature Genetics Archives
includes complete coverage for the period April 1992--April 1998. |
Nature Materials "is a monthly
multi-disciplinary [full text] journal aimed at bringing together
cutting-edge research across the entire spectrum of materials science,
blending physics, chemistry, biology and engineering into an innovative
product." |
Nature Medicine Archives
has complete coverage for the period January 1995--April 1998. |
Nature Physics "publishes [full
text] papers of the highest quality and significance in all areas of
physics, pure and applied ...[including] core physics disciplines,
but...also ...a broad range of topics whose central theme falls within
the bounds of physics." |
Nature Structural and
Molecular Biology Archives includes complete articles for the
period January 1994--April 1998. |
Newspaper Source includes
"provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and
international newspapers...[plus] full text television & radio news
transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.)
newspapers. |
Infotrac Newsstand includes articles
from The Austin American-Statesman, The Houston Chronicle, the
New York Times, the International Herald Tribune, the
London Times, and other papers. |
Historical New York Times has PDF images of NYT
articles back to 1851 and up to a few years ago. Make sure only
ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times is checked off
before you begin your search. |
New York Times
Movie Reviews has all their movie reviews since 1983, and selected
reviews back to the 1920s. It's free, but you must register. |
NIST Chemistry WebBook
from the National Institute of Standards and Technology |
NLM Gateway "allows users
to search in multiple retrieval systems at the U.S. National Library of
Medicine (NLM)," including MEDLINE and other medical databases |
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and
Oral Histories, "composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries,
oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, ... provides
a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines." |
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
"is the largest collection of women's diaries and correspondence ever
assembled. Spanning more than 300 years, [it] brings the personal
experiences of some 1,325 women to researchers, students, and general
readers" via 150,000 pages of letters and diaries. |
NSDL (National Science Digital Library) "is
the Nation's FREE online library for education and
research in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics." |
NurseSearch searches the
American Nurses Association's NursingWorld web site. |
|
| back to top |
Occupational Outlook Handbook has
employment information from the United States Department of Labor. |
OmniFile Full Text includes complete
content from most of our other WilsonWeb databases, plus full text
biological, agricultural, and legal articles. |
O*NET provides information on
a variety of occupations. |
|
| back to top |
Palmer's Full Text Online indexes The
Times of London for 1790--1905, with full text images of The
Times for 1800--1870. |
Past Masters is a searchable
full-text Philosophy database. |
Periodicals Archive Online contains full
page images to millions of articles, from hundreds of journals, in 37
subject areas within the humanities and social sciences, with deep
chronological coverage going back over 200 years. |
PDQ
(Physician Data Query), from the National Cancer Institute, "contains
peer-reviewed summaries on cancer treatment, screening, prevention,
genetics, and supportive care." |
Philosopher's Index "is a
bibliographic database with ... abstracts covering scholarly research
in all areas of philosophy ... and includes journal articles, [over 550
journals from more than 40 countries ... updated quarterly] books, book
chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews." |
Political Database of the
Americas "contains hard copy information on the institutional,
constitutional and political structures of the region." |
POPLINE "is the world's largest
bibliographic database on population, family planning, and related
health issues." |
Population Index "covers all
fields of interest to demographers. Contains selective indexing with
abstracts from journals, books, working papers, doctoral dissertations
and other sources." |
PrePRINT Network
"is a searchable gateway to preprint servers that deal with scientific
and technical disciplines of concern to DOE. Such disciplines include
the great bulk of physics, materials, and chemistry, as well as
portions of biology, environmental sciences and nuclear medicine." |
Primary Search "provides full text
for nearly 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research...as
far back as 1990." |
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales
y Humanisticas) "is a comprehensive reference resource providing
full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for
the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and
the Caribbean Basin." |
ProCon.org a nonpartisan and
nonprofit educational organization which presents pro and con research
(with authoritative sources) on subjects ranging from health care and
alternative energy to the death penalty and illegal immigration. This
is a wonderful source for topics for an argumentative paper. |
Professional Development
Collection "includes full text from 440 journals (150 with images),
and abstract and index coverage for 530 professional development
titles." |
Project MUSE provides online
full-text access to over 300 peer-reviewed humanities and social
sciences journal titles. |
ProQuest Digital Microfilm is a completely
web-based resource that can be accessed much like other remote access
resources. Our collection features microfilm editions of Barron's,
Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and
Washington Post. Coverage for most titles begins in 2008 but coverage
may vary. |
PsycARTICLES "is a database of
full-text articles from journals published by the American
Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation,
the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The
database includes all material from the print journals." |
Psychology & Behavioral
Sciences Collection includes 350 peer reviewed journals, many PDF
images and over 450 full text articles. |
PsycINFO "contains more than one
million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters,
books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of
psychology {and psychological aspects of other disciplines]. Journal
coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international
material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35
languages." |
PubMed
"a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over
11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life
science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full
text articles and other related resources." |
|
| back to top |
Readers' Guide Full Text, covering
all topics, contains abstracts of the most popular general-interest
periodicals from the United States and Canada. It also includes full
text/full image articles. |
Regional Business News provides
comprehensive full text for 35 international newswires and over 50
regional business publications, plus citations and abstracts for
additional publications. |
Religion and Philosophy
Collection contains "over 250 full text articles covering subjects
such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies,
religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of
language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy." |
|
| back to top |
General Science Full Text
provides citations and abstracts to British and American science
magazines and journals. It also includes full text/full image
articles. |
Science & Technology Collection
"contains over 800 leading full text journals" plus indexing and
abstracts for hundreds more, "covering...aeronautics, astrophysics,
chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics,
archaeology, and materials science." |
Science
of Synthesis Houben-Weyl Methods of Molecular
Transformations "is designed to be the first point of reference
before embarking on further searches, providing a route through the
mass information available in primary literature." You must allow
pop-up windows to open to use Science of Synthesis. |
Science Direct provides full image
articles from more than 1000 agriculture, arts and humanities,
astronomy, biology, business, chemistry, clinical medicine, computer
science, earth and planetary sciences, economics, engineering, energy
and technology, environmental science, life sciences, materials
science, mathematics, physics, and social and behavioral sciences
journals. Click on either the Publications button or the
Search button to begin your search. |
|
SciFinder Scholar SciFinder
ScholarTM is a research discovery tool that allows college
students and faculty to access a wide diversity of research from many
scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry,
engineering, material science, agricultural science, and more!
To use this tool: you must first REGISTER HERE to
create your own user name and password. This account will give you
access to the SciFinder database. CAS requires that each registrant use
a functioning email address ending in the campus' standard domain name,
e.g. @broncs.utpa.edu.
|
Scribner Writers Series provides
"access to 1,600 original and detailed bio-critical essays on the lives
and works of important authors from around the world." |
Serials Directory
"provides...bibliographic information as well as current pricing
structures for popular serials...[including] U.S. and international
titles...[plus] historical data...and data from...publishers
worldwide." |
Social Sciences Full Text covers
"a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of
social sciences journals." It also includes full text/full image
articles. |
Social Work Abstracts
"contains more than 35,000 records ... from social work and other
related journals." |
SocINDEX with Full Text has millions of
citations and articles, from thousands of journals (some going back to
1895), plus conference papers, books, and other items. |
SpringerLINK provides abstracts,
full text, and full image articles from journals published by Springer.
The articles/journals are in the fields of computer science, economics,
engineering, law, medicine, mathematics, and life and physical
sciences. Click on search to begin your search for
articles. |
Student Research Center,
for our future students, has full text articles from newspapers,
magazines, and reference books, radio and television transcripts, and
much more. |
SUMSearch searches "Internet
sites that contain medical evidence written by qualified
professionals." |
|
| back to top |
Teacher Reference Center (TRC) -- This new
education database provides key education topics such as assessment,
continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum
development, instructional media, language arts, literary standards,
science and mathematics, and more for K-12 education students,
teachers, and librarians. It includes an index of over 260 titles
from the most popular education trade journals, periodicals, and
books. |
Television News Archive
"collection at Vanderbilt University is the world's most extensive and
complete archive of television news." |
Texas Cancer Data Center "can
be used by Texans to find resources related to different phases of
cancer care - prevention, screening and early detection, diagnosis and
treatment, continuing care - and to answer questions they may have
about cancer." |
Texas
Digital Library Theses and Dissertations "will serve as a
repository for research output including electronic theses and
dissertations, faculty datasets, departmental databases, digital
archives, course management and learning materials, digital media, and
special collections" from The University of Texas, Texas A&M
University, The University of Houston, and Texas Tech University. |
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps "are
valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians,
architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners,
environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history,
growth, and development of American cities, towns, and
neighborhoods." |
Texas Reference Center "includes more
than 80 full text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic &
cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business
as well as home & garden and sports & leisure...[plus] the
Spanish-language newspaper El Sol de Texas with Texas and
national news coverage." |
THOMAS, from the Library of Congress,
makes "federal legislative information [plus Congressional activities,
treaties, presidential nominations, and much more] freely available to
the public." |
TOPICsearch is a current events
database which "allows researchers to explore social, political and
economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics
discussed in today's classrooms." |
TOXNET is "a cluster of databases
on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas." |
Travel at the
Turn of the Twentieth Century: A collection of digitized books
focused on travel from 1875-1908. |
Twayne's Authors Series "offers
in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history
and influence of literary movements and to the development of literary
genres." |
Twentieth Century Advice Literature
contains " fully searchable handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette
guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books that
illustrate both how Americans actually behaved and how they felt they
ought to behave." |
Twentieth Century English and American
Poetry includes over 50,000 poems, from 1,000s of volumes, from
over 300 American poets and over 280 English poets. |
|
| back to top |
Web of Knowledge contains three
citation databases - Science Citation Index Expanded, Social
Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation
Index, which include citations and some links to full text articles
from 1975 to the present. We ask all participants to use the LOG OUT
button at the end of each search session when they are finished, so
that others may use Web of Science. |
Wiley Online Library hosts the
world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online
resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science,
and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4
million articles from 1500 journals, 9000 books, and hundreds of
reference works, laboratory protocols and databases. Click on
Journal Search to look for articles. |
Women and Social Movements International
"provides an unparalleled survey of how women's struggles against
gendered inequalities promoted their engagement with other issues over
time and across cultures." When completed in December of 2012, this
database will encompass 150,000 pages. |
WorldCat has over 96,000,000 records of
materials cataloged by OCLC member libraries, including citations to
books, journal articles, internet sites, etc. |
World Digital Library (WDL) is an
image library created by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and
Cultural Organization to encourage users to explore historical
treasures (maps, photos, video, etc.) from around the world. |
World History Collection offers a
global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South
America, Europe and the Middle East...[with] cover-to-cover full text
for nearly 150 titles, including many peer-reviewed journals." |
World News Digest brings together
nearly seven decades of news from the renowned Facts On File World News
Digest in print. This archival record of domestic and international
news, unrivaled for its depth, breadth, and accuracy, covers all major
political, social, and economic events since November 1940. World News
Digest is updated twice weekly and includes a searchable hourly
newsfeed. |
|
| back to top |
|