Arts and Humanities
Indexes and Databases available electronically
If you have questions about or problems
using these databases, please click
complete alphabetical list of databases.
|Academic Search Complete has
citations and full text articles from peer-reviewed journals in social
sciences, humanities, music, education, computer sciences, engineering,
language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences,
ethnic studies, etc.
|ACLS Humanities E-Book
(formerly History E-Book) from ACLS provides electronic books in
history "that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, are
frequently cited in the literature, and are currently not widely
|Adherents.com "is a growing
collection of over 41,000 adherent statistics and religious geography
citations -- references to published membership/adherent statistics and
congregation statistics for over 4,200 religions, churches,
denominations, religious bodies, faith groups, tribes, cultures,
movements, ultimate concerns, etc."
|allmusic lets you search by
genre, country, instrument, mood, theme, and more.
|Alternative Press Index
provides citations to hundreds of periodicals presenting alternative
views on political, social, economic, and cultural issues.
|America: History and Life with
Full Text "is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of
the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present."
|American Film Scripts Online
contains hundreds of scripts by hundreds of writers "together with
detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people
related to the scripts. When complete, the collection will include more
than 1,000 scripts and over 100,000 scenes of life as portrayed in the
Memory from the Library of Congress "provides free and open access
... to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving
images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American
|American Periodicals Series Online
"contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and
journals that originated between 1741, when Andrew Bradford's American
Magazine and Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine were launched, and
1900" as well as materials from the Twentieth Century.
|Art Full Text provides
citations and abstracts on the arts, architecture, design, cinema,
etc., from magazines published around the world. It also includes full
text/full image articles.
|Arte Publico Hispanic Historical
Collection presents a digital collection of historical content
pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture.
|Bibliography of Native North
Americans "is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of
native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers
a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations,
gaming, governance, legend, and literacy... Dates of coverage for
included content range from the sixteenth century to the present."
Collection provides "facsimile page images and searchable full text
for more than 500 British periodicals published between 1681 and
Comprehensive Database (CLCD) "is an acquisition, research, and
reference service that offers more than 1,200,000 MARC records and more
than 240,000 reviews of children's books--all full text searchable from
33 review sources."
|Classical Music Library
"the world's largest multi-label database of Classical music recordings
for listening and learning in libraries ... ranges from vocal and
choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera" and
includes over 50,000 recordings from over 1800 composers by thousands
of ensembles and artists.
|ComAbstracts (from CIOS) contains "article abstracts, books,
bibliographic records, and other sources of relevance to researchers,
scholars, and students interested in fields related to human
Sciences and Disorders Dome) indexes and abstracts journal articles,
books, dissertations, grants, and other web sites dealing with
speech-language pathology and audiology.
|Communication and Mass Media
Complete, a merger of Mass Media Articles Index and
CommSearch, "provides the most robust, quality research
solution in areas related to communication and mass media."
|Digital National Security Archive
has "the most comprehensive collection available of significant primary
documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945."
|DOAJ (Directory of Open Access
Journals) "covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and
|Early Encounters in North America
contains "over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts
of early encounters."
|Early English Books Online
includes full image works from 15th, 16th, and 17th century English
literature. It includes lesser known works, as well as the classics,
along with "prayer books, pamphlets, and proclamations; almanacs,
calendars, and many other primary sources."
|Eighteenth Century Collections
Online has "the digital images of every page of 150,000 books
published during the 18th Century [including] full-text searching of
approximately 33 million pages." Some of the subjects covered are
history, science, philosophy, literature, the arts, and law.
|Emerald provides full text
articles from hundreds of journals in the fields of criminal justice,
economics, education, engineering, healthcare, librarianship,
management, marketing, and more.
Music in Canada "aims to describe Canada's musical heritage and
culture in all its breadth and depth: the past and present
manifestations of popular, folk, religious, concert, and other forms of
music, as well as the educational, critical, administrative, and
commercial aspects of music in Canada."
|Essay and General Literature Index
"is a bibliographic database that cites essays and articles contained
in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the
United States, Great Britain, and Canada." The index "focuses on the
humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from
economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary
works, drama, and film."
|Filmakers Library Online "provides
award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum-race
and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies,
multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the
environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events,
psychology, arts, literature, and more."
|Fuente Academica "is a unique
collection of scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin American
and Spanish publishers...[which] offers full text content to many
academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences,
political science, law, computer science, library & information
sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and
|Gale Virtual Reference Library
includes subject encyclopedias and other reference books on the arts,
business, education, biological and physical sciences, history and
other social sciences, medicine, and other subjects.
|The Gerritsen Collection:
Women's Online History, 1543--1945, is "the greatest single
source for the study of women's history in the world, with materials
spanning four centuries and fifteen languages...[with] two million page
images exactly as they appeared in the original printed works."
|Grove Music Online "comprises the
full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians,
... The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, ... and The New Grove
Dictionary of Jazz ... Grove Music Online continues to grow with
both newly commissioned material and more articles from other Grove
|HarpWeek "consists of the pages
of Harper's Weekly, scanned as images", from 1857 to
1893, with searchable full text to 1912.
|Health and Psychosocial Instruments
(HAPI) "provides ready access to information on measurement instruments
(i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures,
coding schemes/manuals ... vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health
fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and
|Historical Abstracts with Full
Text is a "complete reference guide to the history of the world
from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which
are covered in America: History and Life)."
|Humanities Full Text cites
articles from scholarly journals and specialized magazines in the
humanities, including archaeology, art, classical studies,
communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history,
journalism, linguistics, social criticism, music, performing arts,
philosophy, religion and theology. It also includes full text/full
|Humanities International Index
"provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700
journals . . . [including] a multitude of international journals,
[plus] books and reference works. . . as well as original creative
works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and
|IIMP, the International Index to
Music Periodicals, "covers nearly all aspects of the world of
music, from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes."
|IMSLP stands for the
International Music Score Library Project and "attempts to create a
virtual library containing all public domain musical scores, as well as
scores from composers who are willing to share their music with the
world without charge."
|In the First Person
"lets users perform in-depth field and keyword searches across all
letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies within
scholarly materials that are freely available on the Web and Alexander
Street databases." If full text is not available, information about the
archive where documents are stored is provided.
|Information Science & Technology
Abstracts (ISTA) "indexes journal articles from more than 450
publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings
and patents, with ongoing comprehensive coverage of the most important
periodicals in this field."
|IngentaConnect has millions of
citations and abstracts from more than 28,000 journals.
|JSTOR is a full image database of
back issues of scholarly journals in African American studies,
anthropology, Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education,
finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political
science, population studies, sociology, and statistics.
|Latin American Women Writers brings
together "the most important writers from 19 countries, as well as the
works of the principal feminists, in one single collection [including]
... literary works, memoirs, feminist essays, and other materials" from
the colonial period to the present."
|LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe
has "full text company news & financial information...full text
federal, state & international legal materials...full text &
abstracted medical & health information...general reference
sources" and national and international news.
|Library, Information Science &
Technology Abstracts "is the oldest continuously produced database
covering the field of information science, [and covers such fields as]
librarianship, online information retrieval, information management,
search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the
information industry, scholarly communication, and electronic
|Library Literature and Information
Science Full Text "indexes articles and book reviews of key library
and information science periodicals published in the United States and
elsewhere...Books, chapters in collected works such as conference
proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets are also indexed." It
also includes full text/full image articles.
|Linguistics and Language Behavior
Abstracts (LLBA) "abstracts and indexes the international
literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language
sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language
including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics."
(Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select,
Dictionary of Literary Biography) have " in-depth information on the
lives and writings of nearly 100,000 authors along with critical
reaction to their works."
|Literature Resource Center is an
"all-inclusive [Gale/InfoTrac] database [that] contains information on
both classical and contemporary authors and their works."
"offers information on a broad variety of subjects, including ...
searchable full text for over 1,820 journals ... searchable full text
for nearly 5,000 Magill's Book Reviews ... over 1.7 million company
records from Dun & Bradstreet, and much more."
reviews from respected critics and publications for film, video/dvd,
music and games", with links to the reviews.
|MLA Bibliography " indexes
critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics and
|MLA Directory of
Periodicals offers detailed information on over 7,000
Times Movie Reviews has all their movie reviews since 1983, and
selected reviews back to the 1920s. It's free, but you must
|North American Immigrant Letters,
Diaries and Oral Histories, "composed of contemporaneous letters
and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives,
... provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of
|North American Women's Letters and
Diaries "is the largest collection of women's diaries and
correspondence ever assembled. Spanning more than 300 years, [it]
brings the personal experiences of some 1,325 women to researchers,
students, and general readers" via 150,000 pages of letters and
|Palmer's Full Text Online indexes
The Times of London for 1790--1905, with full text images of
The Times for 1800--1870.
|Past Masters is a searchable
full-text Philosophy database.
|Periodicals Archive Online contains
full page images to millions of articles, from hundreds of journals, in
37 subject areas within the humanities and social sciences, with deep
chronological coverage going back over 200 years.
|Philosopher's Index "is
a bibliographic database with ... abstracts covering scholarly research
in all areas of philosophy ... and includes journal articles, [over 550
journals from more than 40 countries ... updated quarterly] books, book
chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews."
|PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas
Sociales y HumanÝ│┤icas) "is a comprehensive reference resource providing
full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for
the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and
the Caribbean Basin."
|Project MUSE provides online
full-text access to over 300 peer-reviewed humanities and social
sciences journal titles.
|Religion and Philosophy
Collection contains "over 250 full text articles covering subjects
such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies,
religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of
language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy."
|Science Direct provides
full image articles from more than 1000 agriculture, arts and
humanities, astronomy, biology, business, chemistry, clinical medicine,
computer science, earth and planetary sciences, economics, engineering,
energy and technology, environmental science, life sciences, materials
science, mathematics, physics, and social and behavioral sciences
journals. Click on either the Publications button or the
Search button to begin your search.
|Scribner Writers Series
provides "access to 1,600 original and detailed bio-critical essays on
the lives and works of important authors from around the world."
|Twayne's Authors Series
"offers in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the
history and influence of literary movements and to the development of
|Twentieth Century American and English
Poetry includes over 50,000 poems, from 1,000s of volumes, from
over 300 American poets and over 280 English poets.
|Web of Knowledge contains
three citation databases - Science Citation Index Expanded,
Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities
Citation Index, which include citations and some links to full text
articles from 1975 to the present. We ask all participants to use the
LOG OUT button at the end of each search session when they are
finished, so that others may use Web of Science.
|World Digital Library (WDL) is
an image library created by the United Nations Educational, Scientific
and Cultural Organization to encourage users to explore historical
treasures (maps, photos, video, etc.) from around the world.
|World History Collection
offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North
and South America, Europe and the Middle East...[with] cover-to-cover
full text for nearly 150 titles, including many peer-reviewed
Return to the top of this page.