| Academic Search Complete has
citations and full text articles from peer-reviewed journals in social
sciences, humanities, music, education, computer sciences, engineering,
language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences,
ethnic studies, etc. |
| Access: The Supplementary Index to
Periodicals is part of the John Gordon Burke Publisher, Inc. Research
Center. It covers local, regional, and national magazines (typically
not scholarly journals) that are not indexed in the Readers' Guide
to Periodical Literature. Use utpa for the User Name and
DQPTIHU for the Password. |
| American
Memory from the Library of Congress "provides free and open access
... to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving
images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American
experience." |
| Alternative Press Index
provides citations to hundreds of periodicals presenting alternative
views on political, social, economic, and cultural issues. |
| American Periodicals Series Online
"contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and
journals that originated between 1741, when Andrew Bradford's American
Magazine and Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine were launched, and
1900" as well as materials from the Twentieth Century. This link takes
you to Criminal Justice Periodicals Index, from which you click
on APSOnline. |
| Annual Reviews has
citations and abstracts for biomedical, physical, and social
sciences. |
| Books in print.com provides title,
author, ISBN number and publisher information for millions of
books. |
| Bibliography of Native North
Americans "is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of
native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers
a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations,
gaming, governance, legend, and literacy... Dates of coverage for
included content range from the sixteenth century to the present." |
| Biography and Genealogy Master
Index "indexes current, readily available reference sources, as
well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals,
both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all
areas of the world....[to] enable you to quickly determine which
publication to consult for biographical information." |
| Biography.com from
A&E |
| CIA
World Factbook is updated regularly throughout the year. |
| CIS Congressional Universe
has comprehensive information about members of Congress, legislation,
laws, bills, and Congressional testimony, public policy issues, the
U.S. Code, CFR, and Congressional Record, etc. |
| College Catalogs Online
provides college catalogs to over 15,000 colleges in the United States
and abroad. This resource is available only from Library
computers. |
| Collins English
Dictionary includes multilingual translation dictionaries for to
Spanish, French, Italian, and German |
| ConsumerSearch "is
a Web-based publishing company that helps consumers find answers about
what products are top-rated or best bets in their class." |
| CQ Researcher "offers in-depth,
non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular
reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the
environment, technology and the U.S. economy." |
| Current Research @
provides complete theses and dissertations (from Dissertations
Abstracts) written by UTPA students since 1996. |
| Dissertations and Theses
(Dissertation Abstracts) "is the single, authoritative source for
information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses... from
over 1,000 graduate schools and universities." Make sure only
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - A&I is checked off to
search just Digital Dissertations. |
| Digital National Security Archive
has "the most comprehensive collection available of significant primary
documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945." |
| DOAJ (Directory of Open Access
Journals) "covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and
scholarly journals." |
| Early English Books Online
includes full image works from 15th, 16th, and 17th century English
literature. It includes lesser known works, as well as the classics,
along with "prayer books, pamphlets, and proclamations; almanacs,
calendars, and many other primary sources." |
| EBSCOhost provides access to dozens
of databases, in many different disciplines, and at different academic
levels. |
| EBSCO en Espanol
provides directions to many different databases in Spanish. |
| Eighteenth Century Collections
Online has "the digital images of every page of 150,000 books
published during the 18th Century [including] full-text searching of
approximately 33 million pages." Some of the subjects covered are
history, science, philosophy, literature, the arts, and law. |
| eLibrary includes foreign
language press, radio and tv transcripts, images and videos, full text
articles, and more. |
| Emerald provides full text
articles from hundreds of journals in the fields of criminal justice,
economics, education, engineering, healthcare, librarianship,
management, marketing, and more. |
| Encyclopedia Britannica
Online, the world's most comprehensive reference product, includes
the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate
Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia
and the Britannica Book of the Year. |
| Encyclopedia of
Animals, for our future students, "provides students with thousands
of easy-to-read entries about mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians,
fish, dinosaurs and prehistoric animals." |
| English
Spanish Dictionary (WordReference.com) from Harper Collins also has
a Diccionario Ingles
Espanol. |
| Essay and General Literature Index
"is a bibliographic database that cites essays and articles contained
in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the
United States, Great Britain, and Canada." The index "focuses on the
humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from
economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary
works, drama, and film." |
| Fuente Academica "is a unique
collection of scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin American
and Spanish publishers...[which] offers full text content to many
academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences,
political science, law, computer science, library & information
sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and
theology." |
| Funk & Wagnalls New World
Encyclopedia "provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a
variety of subject areas." |
| Gale databases have information on
literature, biography, science, and Texas. |
| Gale Virtual Reference Library
includes subject encyclopedias and other reference books on the arts,
business, education, biological and physical sciences, history and
other social sciences, medicine, and other subjects. |
| The Gerritsen Collection:
Women's Online History, 1543--1945, is "the greatest single
source for the study of women's history in the world, with materials
spanning four centuries and fifteen languages...[with] two million page
images exactly as they appeared in the original printed works." |
| GPO Access is a
service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides the
official, published version of important information produced by all
branches and agencies the Federal Government. |
| The Handbook of Texas "is a
multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture
sponsored by the Texas State Historical Association and the General
Libraries at UT Austin." |
| HarpWeek "consists of the pages
of Harper's Weekly, scanned as images", from 1857 to
1893, with searchable full text to 1912. |
| Health and Psychosocial Instruments
(HAPI) "provides ready access to information on measurement instruments
(i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures,
coding schemes/manuals ... vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health
fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and
information science." |
| HeritageQuest Online, which
"provides libraries a unique, growing collection of research materials
for tracing family history and American culture," includes complete
U.S. federal Census, 1790--1930, obituaries, Freedman's Savings &
Trust Company bank records, records on veterans of the American
Revolution, and more. |
| In the First Person "lets users
perform in-depth field and keyword searches across all letters,
diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies within scholarly
materials that are freely available on the Web and Alexander Street
databases." If full text is not available, information about the
archive where documents are stored is provided. |
| INFOMINE "is a virtual
library of Internet resources... [which] contains useful Internet
resources such as databases, electronic journals, electronic books,
bulletin boards, mailing lists, online library card catalogs, articles,
directories of researchers, and many other types of information." |
| IngentaConnect has millions of
citations and abstracts from more than 28,000 journals. |
| JSTOR is a full image database of
back issues of scholarly journals in African American studies,
anthropology, Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education,
finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political
science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. |
| LearningExpressLibrary
"provides a completely interactive online learning platform of practice
tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons, students,
and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must
pass." Use it to prepare for a GED or EMT exam, the GREs, MCATs, ACTs,
or just about any other test. First time users must create their own
Username and Password. |
| LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe
has "full text company news & financial information...full text
federal, state & international legal materials...full text &
abstracted medical & health information...general reference
sources" and national and international news. |
| Library, Information Science &
Technology Abstracts "is the oldest continuously produced database
covering the field of information science, [and covers such fields as]
librarianship, online information retrieval, information management,
search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the
information industry, scholarly communication, and electronic
publishing." |
| Library Literature and Information
Science Full Text "indexes articles and book reviews of key library
and information science periodicals published in the United States and
elsewhere...Books, chapters in collected works such as conference
proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets are also indexed." It
also includes full text/full image articles. |
| The Library of Congress includes
documents and recordings from American history and culture, including
digitized collections from around the world, legislative and other
governmental information, and much more. |
| Library of Texas
searches catalogs of dozens of public and academic libraries, and
dozens of commercial databases, all at the same time. |
| Marcive Web DOCS provides a list
of documents published by the United States government. After
you conduct your search, click on the link to the item you want to get
more information and the call number. Then click on the Holdings
button to find out which libraries, including UTPA, own that item. |
| MasterFILE Premier
"offers information on a broad variety of subjects, including ...
searchable full text for over 1,820 journals ... searchable full text
for nearly 5,000 Magill's Book Reviews ... over 1.7 million company
records from Dun & Bradstreet, and much more." |
| MAS Ultra: School Edition
"covers general reference, business, consumer health, general health,
general science and multi-cultural titles," and includes over 700 full
text or full image periodicals, plus reference books, primary source
documents, and much more. |
| Middle Search Plus
"provides full text for nearly 140 popular magazines for middle and jr.
high school research" plus biographies, primary source documents, and
an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags. |
| Military and Government
Collection provides full text from almost 400 military and general
interest publications ... to bring current news to all branches of the
military. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for over 500
magazines. |
| MTS Lab Training Library provides
samples and interactive training for biology and medical labs,
electrical/engineering safety training, and more. |
| The National Security
Archive "collects and publishes declassified [U.S. government]
documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act." |
| netLibrary includes reference
material, as well as classics. Only one user can look at a specific
book at a time. Patrons need to set up an account to "check out"
books. |
| Newspaper Source includes
"provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and
international newspapers...[plus] full text television & radio news
transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.)
newspapers. |
| Infotrac Newspapers
includes articles from The Austin American-Statesman, The Houston
Chronicle, the New York Times, the International Herald
Tribune, the London Times, and other papers. |
| Historical New York Times has PDF
images of NYT articles back to 1851 and up to a few years ago. Make
sure only ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times is
checked off before you begin your search. |
| North American Immigrant Letters,
Diaries and Oral Histories, "composed of contemporaneous letters
and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives,
... provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of
disciplines." |
| North American Women's Letters and
Diaries "is the largest collection of women's diaries and
correspondence ever assembled. Spanning more than 300 years, [it]
brings the personal experiences of some 1,325 women to researchers,
students, and general readers" via 150,000 pages of letters and
diaries. |
| Occupational Outlook Handbook
has employment information from the United States Department of
Labor. |
| O*NET provides
information on a variety of occupations. |
| Periodicals Archive Online contains
full page images to millions of articles, from hundreds of journals, in
37 subject areas within the humanities and social sciences, with deep
chronological coverage going back over 200 years. |
| Primary Search "provides
full text for nearly 70 popular, magazines for elementary school
research...as far back as 1990." |
| PsycINFO "contains more than
one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters,
books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of
psychology {and psychological aspects of other disciplines]. Journal
coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international
material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35
languages." |
| Readers' Guide Full Text,
covering all topics, contains abstracts of the most popular
general-interest periodicals from the United States and Canada. It also
includes full text/full image articles. |
| Science Direct provides
full image articles from more than 1000 agriculture, arts and
humanities, astronomy, biology, business, chemistry, clinical medicine,
computer science, earth and planetary sciences, economics, engineering,
energy and technology, environmental science, life sciences, materials
science, mathematics, physics, and social and behavioral sciences
journals. Click on either the Publications button or the
Search button to begin your search. |
| Serials Directory
"provides...bibliographic information as well as current pricing
structures for popular serials...[including] U.S. and international
titles...[plus] historical data...and data from...publishers
worldwide." |
| Statistical Universe
has information from the Statistical Abstract of the United States, ASI
(American Statistics Index), and other U.S. statistical
information. |
| Television News Archive
"collection at Vanderbilt University is the world's most extensive and
complete archive of television news." |
| Texas Digital Library
has full text theses and dissertations from the University of Texas and
Texas A&M universities from 2002 forward, and plans to "serve as a
repository for research output including electronic theses and
dissertations, faculty datasets, departmental databases, digital
archives, course management and learning materials, digital media, and
special collections." |
| Texas Digital Sanborn
Maps "are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social
historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians,
planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the
history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and
neighborhoods." |
| Texas Reference Center "includes
more than 80 full text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic
& cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health,
business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure...[plus]
the Spanish-language newspaper El Sol de Texas with Texas and
national news coverage." |
| THOMAS, from the Library of
Congress, makes "federal legislative information [plus Congressional
activities, treaties, presidential nominations, and much more] freely
available to the public." |
| TOPICsearch is a current
events database which "allows researchers to explore social, political
and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics
discussed in today's classrooms." |
| United States Patent and
Trademark Office is searchable for parents and trademarks,
etc. |
| UTOPIA "provides
access to The University of Texas at Austin's vast reservoir of
knowledge and cultural assets (and the treasures of its libraries,
museums, galleries and laboratories) at the touch of a button." |
| Vocational and Career
Collection "provides full text coverage for more than 350 trade and
industry-related periodicals." |
| Web of Knowledge contains
three citation databases - Science Citation Index Expanded,
Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities
Citation Index, which include citations and some links to full text
articles from 1975 to the present. We ask all participants to use the
LOG OUT button at the end of each search session when they are
finished, so that others may use Web of Science. |
| Who's Who combines information
from dozens of the famous Who's Who sources going back to 1985.
No more than three people may use this at one time, so please log off
when you're finished using Who's Who. |
| Wiley InterScience
provides full image access to over 400 journals from the Wiley
publishers. Disciplines include business, education, law, and
psychology, in addition to a variety of sciences and engineering. Click
on Journal Search to look for articles. |
| WorldCat has over 96,000,000
records of materials cataloged by OCLC member libraries, including
citations to books, journal articles, internet sites, etc. |
| World Data Analyst from
Encyclopaedia Britannica offers statistical portraits of the countries
of the world and tools for making comparative charts and tables. |