|
|
H-L
| The Handbook of Texas "is a
multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture
sponsored by the Texas State Historical Association and the General
Libraries at UT Austin." |
| HAPI Hispanic American
Periodical Index (HAPI) "is your source for over 265,000 journal
article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean,
Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States." |
| HarpWeek "consists of the pages
of Harper's Weekly, scanned as images", from 1857 to
1893, with searchable full text to 1912. |
| HCI Bibliography "provides a
bibliographic database [of over 20,000 records] on Human-Computer
Interaction." |
| Health and Psychosocial Instruments
(HAPI) "provides ready access to information on measurement instruments
(i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures,
coding schemes/manuals ... vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health
fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and
information science." |
| Health and Wellness
Resource Center searches "2,200 general interest health
publications, over 400 health and medical journals," and several other
health reference sources. |
| Infotrac Health Reference
Center-Academic has a wide range of articles on health and
medicine, many of which are full-text. |
| Health Source -
Consumer Edition provides "information on many health topics
including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare,
sports medicine and general health;... features searchable full text
for nearly 150 journals,...[and] is updated on a daily basis. |
| Health Source:
Nursing/Academic Edition "provides nearly 550 scholarly full text
journals focusing on many medical disciplines,...features abstracts and
indexing for nearly 850 journals,...[and] is updated on a daily
basis. |
| HeritageQuest Online, which
"provides libraries a unique, growing collection of research materials
for tracing family history and American culture," includes complete
U.S. federal Census, 1790--1930, obituaries, Freedman's Savings &
Trust Company bank records, records on veterans of the American
Revolution, and more. |
| HighWire
Press "is one of the two largest archives of free full-text science
on Earth ... assisting in the online publication of ...[hundreds of
thousands of] free full-text articles." |
| Historical Abstracts is a
"complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the
present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in
America: History and Life)." |
| History E-Book Project from
ACLS provides electronic books in history "that remain vital to both
scholars and advanced students, are frequently cited in the literature,
and are currently not widely available." |
| Humanities Full Text cites
articles from scholarly journals and specialized magazines in the
humanities, including archaeology, art, classical studies,
communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history,
journalism, linguistics, social criticism, music, performing arts,
philosophy, religion and theology. It also includes full text/full
image articles. |
| Humanities International Index
"provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700
journals . . . [including] a multitude of international journals,
[plus] books and reference works. . . as well as original creative
works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and
illustrations." |
| Hoover's Online is a
free subset of Hoover's business information. |
| ICPSR (the Inter-university
Consortium for Political and Social Research) "established in 1962, is
an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. [It]
maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data
for research and instruction...ICPSR does not provide publications,
reports, or ready-made statistics,... [but instead supplies] the
numeric raw data used to create publications, reports, and
figures." |
| IEEE/IEE Electronic Library Online
has nearly a third of the world's current literature in electrical
engineering, electronics, and computer science, including full text
database of journals, conference proceedings and standards in the
field. |
| IIMP, the International Index to
Music Periodicals, "covers nearly all aspects of the world of
music, from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes." |
| In the First Person "lets users
perform in-depth field and keyword searches across all letters,
diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies within scholarly
materials that are freely available on the Web and Alexander Street
databases." If full text is not available, information about the
archive where documents are stored is provided. |
| INFOMINE "is a virtual
library of Internet resources... [which] contains useful Internet
resources such as databases, electronic journals, electronic books,
bulletin boards, mailing lists, online library card catalogs, articles,
directories of researchers, and many other types of information." |
| Information Science & Technology
Abstracts (ISTA) "indexes journal articles from more than 450
publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings
and patents, with ongoing comprehensive coverage of the most important
periodicals in this field." |
| IngentaConnect has millions of
citations and abstracts from more than 28,000 journals. |
| Internet and Personal Computing
Abstracts "provides abstracts and indexing for literature related
to personal computing products and developments in business, the
Internet, the home, and all other applied areas...[from] over 400 of
the most important trade publications, mainstream computer magazines,
and professional journals." |
| International Security & Counter
Terrorism Reference Center (ISCTRC) provides a comprehensive Open
Source Intelligence Resource, consisting of hundreds of full text
journals and periodicals, hundreds of thousands of selected articles,
news feeds, reports, summaries, books, blogs, FAQs, and proprietary
Background Information Summaries that pertain to terrorism and
security. |
| IOP, the Institute of Physics,
offers full text physics magazines, full image articles from dozens of
journals, and other physics information. |
| iSafetyNet.US, the "Health and Human Services Web
Navigator...provides customized...cybrarian services for individuals
and organizations." |
| Journal Citation Reports (JCR):
Science Edition is the leading authority for evaluating the impact of
cited references in science and indexes over 5900 international science
journals. |
| Journal Citation Reports (JCR):
Social Sciences Edition is the leading authority for evaluating the
impact of cited journals in social sciences and indexes over 1700
social science journals. |
| Journals@Ovid provides
citations, abstracts, and references to articles from nursing
and other medical journals, and some full text. |
| JSTOR is a full image database of
back issues of scholarly journals in African American studies,
anthropology, Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education,
finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political
science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. |
| Latin American Women Writers brings
together "the most important writers from 19 countries, as well as the
works of the principal feminists, in one single collection [including]
... literary works, memoirs, feminist essays, and other materials" from
the colonial period to the present." |
| LearningExpressLibrary
"provides a completely interactive online learning platform of practice
tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons, students,
and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must
pass." Use it to prepare for a GED or EMT exam, the GREs, MCATs, ACTs,
or just about any other test. First time users must create their own
Username and Password. |
| Legal Collection "contains full
text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law
journals." |
| LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe
has "full text company news & financial information...full text
federal, state & international legal materials...full text &
abstracted medical & health information...general reference
sources" and national and international news. |
| Library, Information Science &
Technology Abstracts "is the oldest continuously produced database
covering the field of information science, [and covers such fields as]
librarianship, online information retrieval, information management,
search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the
information industry, scholarly communication, and electronic
publishing." |
| Library Literature and Information
Science Full Text "indexes articles and book reviews of key library
and information science periodicals published in the United States and
elsewhere...Books, chapters in collected works such as conference
proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets are also indexed." It
also includes full text/full image articles. |
| The Library of Congress includes
documents and recordings from American history and culture, including
digitized collections from around the world, legislative and other
governmental information, and much more. |
| Library of Texas
searches catalogs of dozens of public and academic libraries, and
dozens of commercial databases, all at the same time. |
| Literary databases
(Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select,
Dictionary of Literary Biography) have " in-depth information on the
lives and writings of nearly 100,000 authors along with critical
reaction to their works." |
| Literature Resource Center is an
"all-inclusive [Gale/InfoTrac] database [that] contains information on
both classical and contemporary authors and their works." |
by
cmsadmin
—
last modified
10-22-2007 14:26
|