February 12, 2012
Document Actions

Chemistry



The most exciting phrase to hear in science, the one that heralds new discoveries, is not "Eureka!" (I found it!) but "That's funny...." -- Isaac Asimov

Chemistry has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.

Chemistry QD
Biochemistry QH345
Chemistry, Inorganic QD151
Chemistry, Organic QD251
Chemistry, Technical TP145
Chemistry, Forensic RA1057
Environmental chemistry QD31.2
Geochemistry QE515
Pharmaceutical chemistry RS403
Toxicological chemistry RA1219.3
Chemistry, analytic QD75.2


Chemistry Print Resources


Dictionaries


Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary. - New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, c1987- This source contains information on chemical substances, concepts, processes in addition to biographies on a few chemists. Chemical definitions cover uses, physical properties, hazards and trade name producers when applicable. [REF QD5.C5]

Glossary of Chemical Terms. - New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1982. This reference work covers major chemical classifications, well-known functional terms, basic phenomena and processes, all the chemical elements, important compounds, general chemistry terms, biographies of well-known chemists and cross-references to related topics. It also includes chronological landmarks and background information on some industries. [REF QD5.H34 1982]

Miall's Dictionary of Chemistry. - Harlow, Essex: Longman, 1981. This resource supplies readers with brief explanations of chemistry terms, important substances, chemical operations and some chemists. It also includes the use of certain chemicals, production data, and industrial processes. [REF QD5.M52 1981]

Vocabulario de Quimica: Ingles-Espanol y Espanol-Ingles. - Madrid: Alhambra, 1980. This reference resource supplies Spanish to English and English to Spanish definitions of common terms used and associated with chemistry. [REF QD5.B343]

A Dictionary of Named Effects and Laws in Chemistry, Physics and Mathematics. - London: Chapman & Hall, 1970. Organized alphabetically, this resource supplies definitions of terms associated with the fields of chemistry, physics and mathematics. Scientists associated with the terms and laws also appear in this work. [REF Q123.B3 1970]


Encyclopedias


Van Nostrand's Encyclopedia of Chemistry. - Hoboken, NJ: Wiley-Interscience, 2005. This reference resource covers general chemistry topics as well as newer topics, such as nanotechnology, fuel cell technology, green chemistry, forensic chemistry, and materials chemistry. It touches upon areas related to chemistry, such as physics, engineering, biology, geology and agriculture. It includes bibliographical references and an index. [REF QD4.V36 2005]

World of Chemistry. - Detroit: Gale Group, 2000. This reference resource contains articles on theories, discoveries, concepts and notable people in the field of chemistry. It contains over 1,000 entries, about 400 biographical sketches, and an index. [REF QD33.W873 2000]

Chemistry [electronic resource]: Foundations and Applications. - 4 vols. New York, N.Y.: Macmillan Reference USA, 2004. This online reference source covers chemistry as a whole, including its laws, processes, applications and subareas, and the different branches of chemistry. It contains some biographies of scientists, looks at the history of chemistry and covers modern research in the field. It includes bibliographical references and an index. [electronic resource]


Handbooks


Lange's Handbook of Chemistry. - New York: McGraw-Hill, 2005. This reference resource covers the multiple aspects of inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, spectroscopy as well as providing general chemistry information. It is illustrated and contains an index. [REF QD65.L36 2005]

The Chemist's Companion: a Handbook of Practical Data, Techniques, and References. - New York: Wiley [1972]. This resource covers properties of molecular systems, properties of atoms and bonds, kinetics and energetic, spectroscopy, photochemistry, chromatography, experimental techniques, and mathematical and numerical information. It includes bibliographical references and a subject index. [REF QD65.G64]


Journals


Chemical Communications (Cambridge, England). - This journal publishes information pertaining to new areas of research, from both national and international chemical research. Issues contain articles written by leading scientists in their respective fields and articles focused on specific topics of interest in the scientific community. [PER QD1.C48]

Journal of Chemical Education. - This journal is published by the American Chemical Society and is written for educators in the field of chemistry. It supplies readers with up-to-date research, new ideas in teaching and helpful information regarding course organization. [PER QD1.J93]

Inorganica Chimica Acta. - This international journal focuses on all parts of inorganic chemistry. It covers complex topics, such as electrochemical investigations, bioinorganic molecular models, supramolecular systems, electron transfer reactions with regard to inorganic systems and more. [PER QD146.I58]

Organic & Biomolecular Chemistry. - This journal focuses on molecular design, synthesis, structure, function and reactivity of organic materials. Issues cover synthetic, physical and biomolecular organic chemistry, in addition to chemical biology, medicinal chemistry, natural product chemistry, supramolecular chemistry, macromolecular chemistry, theoretical chemistry and catalysis. [PER QD1.C537]

Journal of Biological Chemistry. - This journal is published by The American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. Its focus is on original research that pertains to the fields of and any aspects of biochemistry and molecular biology. [PER QP501.J7]

Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics: PCCP. - This journal provides current and leading information relating to physical chemistry, chemical physics and biophysical chemistry. Issues include latest research, articles written by leaders in their fields and themes. [PER QD1.C5327]


Chemistry Electronic Resources


Databases


American Chemical Society- provides full image articles from dozens of chemistry journals. Click on search the journals to search for articles.

Nature Chemical Biology- "is a monthly [full text] multidisciplinary journal providing an international forum for the timely publication of significant new research at the interface between chemistry and biology."

Nature Materials- "is a monthly multi-disciplinary [full text] journal aimed at bringing together cutting-edge research across the entire spectrum of materials science, blending physics, chemistry, biology and engineering into an innovative product."

Science & Technology Collection- "contains over 800 leading full text journals" plus indexing and abstracts for hundreds more, "covering...aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science."

Science Direct- provides full image articles from more than 1000 agriculture, arts and humanities, astronomy, biology, business, chemistry, clinical medicine, computer science, earth and planetary sciences, economics, engineering, energy and technology, environmental science, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social and behavioral sciences journals. Click on either the Publications button or the Search button to begin your search.

SciFinder Scholar- SciFinder ScholarTM is a research discovery tool that allows college students and faculty to access a wide diversity of research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, material science, agricultural science, and more! To use this tool: you must first REGISTER HERE to create your own user name and password. This account will give you access to the SciFinder database.


Websites


ChemWeb.Com- "the largest online chemical community in the world ... combines a huge range of information for those in research chemistry, the chemicals industries and related disciplines."

NIST Chemistry WebBook- from the National Institute of Standards and Technology website.

PrePRINT Network- "is a searchable gateway to preprint servers that deal with scientific and technical disciplines of concern to DOE. Such disciplines include the great bulk of physics, materials, and chemistry, as well as portions of biology, environmental sciences and nuclear medicine."

Science.gov- This site searches more than 38 databases and 1,950 websites. It offers access to authoritative U.S. government science information.

The National Science Digital Library- This site provides multiple links relating to education and research in the fields of science, technology, engineering and mathematics. Use the keyword chemistry to find information specific to this area.

ChemSpider- This site is owned by the Royal Society of Chemistry and is for chemists. It provides access to millions of chemical structures as well as other structure-based chemistry information.


by Carlton Nelson last modified 07-06-2009 09:39