February 11, 2012
Document Actions

Dietetics



The greatest wealth is health. --Virgil

Dietetics has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.

Dietetics RM
Diet in disease RM216
Diet therapy RM216
Nutrition QP141
Diet RM222.2
Food TX353
Dietitians RM216
Food habits GT2850


Dietetics Print Resources


Dictionaries


Balanced diet [electronic resource]: a medical dictionary, bibliography, and annotated research guide to Internet references. - San Diego, CA: ICON Health Publications, 2004. This is an electronic version of the print copy. This reference source supplies the reader with a dictionary, bibliographic citations, and Internet links for further research. It is applicable for students or professionals. [electronic resource]

The nutrition bible: a comprehensive, no-nonsense guide to foods, nutrients, additives, preservatives, pollutants, and everything else we eat and drink. - New York: Morrow, 1995. This source includes information on food-related disorders, cooking techniques, diets, brand names, food-labeling terms, bacteria, fast food and more. It includes some cross-references and contains some recipes. [REF RA784.A533 1995]

Nutrition and diet therapy dictionary. - New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1991. This reference tool provides detailed definitions for over 3,800 nutritional terms focusing on the aspects of clinical nutrition and diet in disease. It provides cross-references and 48 appendices. It is applicable to practicing nutritionists, dietetics as well as other professionals and students. [REF RM219.L26 1991]

Dictionary of food and nutrition. - Weinham, Federal Republic of Germany: VCH; Chichester, England: Ellis Horwood; New York, NY, USA: Distribution, USA and Canada, VCH, 1988. This reference tool covers the biochemistry of foods, food processing, and the physiology of digestion and absorption. In addition to covering human nutrition, it discusses aspects of animal nutrition. Aimed primarily at researchers and scientists, it offers detailed definitions along with some diagrams, tables and charts. [REF QP141.A37813 1987]


Encyclopedias


Foods & nutrition encyclopedia. - 2 vols. Boca Raton: CRC Press, 1994. This reference tool contains multiple illustrations, including color photographs; over 2,000 entries discussing food, nutrition and the health sciences; and more than 400 tables. It is indexed and supplies bibliographic references. [REF TX349.F575 1994]

Encyclopaedia of food science, food technology, and nutrition. - 8 vols. London; San Diego: Academic Press, 1993. This source has 1,000 contributors and over 1,000 articles. It is useful for professionals, students, and general readers. It covers a wide range of topics, such as fruits in tropical climates, mycotoxins, world liqueurs, and all kinds of food. [REF TX349.E47 1993]

Nutrition and well-being A to Z [electronic resource]. - 2 vols. Detroit, Mich.: Macmillan Reference USA, 2004. This is the electronic version of the print source. It discusses the relationship between food and health, dietary habits, eating diseases and disorders, health risks and food safety, different ethnic groups eating habits, health programs and organizations, and more. It provides Internet resources and bibliographies. [electronic resource]


Handbooks


Dietitian's pocket guide to nutrition. - Sudbury, Mass.: Jones and Bartlett Publishers, 2010. This source covers the topics of nutrition from children to the elderly for a wide range of medical problems. Each section contains advice about do's and don'ts regarding nutrition. It contains extensive appendices, bibliographical references and an index. [RM217.2.D543 2010]

Practical nutritional support techniques. - Thorofare, NJ: SLACK Inc., 2004. This source covers how-to nutritional techniques for children and adults. It covers topics, such as nutritional assessment, parenteral and enteral nutrition, pregnancy, disease specific nutrition, pediatrics, and home nutritional therapy. It includes reference tables. [RM217.2.B78 2004]

Quick reference to clinical dietetics. - Sudbury, Mass.: Jones and Bartlett, 2006. This reference tool is research-based and focuses on nutrition management. Each section is written by a nutritional expert and provides guidelines for nutrition screening and assessment as well as physical assessment. [RM217.2.Q53 2006]


Journals


Journal of the American Dietetic Association. - This periodical covers the practice and science of food, nutrition, and dietetics. It is peer-reviewed and topics cover the areas of nutritional science, medical nutrition therapy, public health nutrition, food science and biotechnology, foodservice systems, leadership and management, and dietetics education. [PER RM214.A6]

American Journal of Clinical Nutrition. - This peer-reviewed journal publishes original research studies that pertain to human and clinical nutrition. Issues cover controlled clinical studies that relate to human nutrition, dietary interventions regarding disease prevention, book reviews as well as controversial issues. [PER RC584.A5]

Journal of Applied Nutrition. - This periodical is multidisciplinary and "publishes papers that discuss the topic of nutritional prevention and treatment of disease and in the maintenance of optimal health." Issues contain book reviews, literature reviews, original scientific articles, and case reports. [PER RM214.J68]

The Journal of Nutrition. - This journal specifically covers the topic of nutrition research. It provides peer-reviewed research on experimental nutrition, critical reviews, commentaries, and reports on workshops and conferences. [PER RM214.J6]

Nutrition reviews. - This periodical provides readers with information pertaining to developments in nutrition, dietetics, food science, and nutrition science policy. It is published by the International Life Sciences Institute. [PER TX341.N85]


Dietetics Electronic Resources


Databases


AGRICOLA (from EBSCO)- is the National Agricultural Library's online catalog and "encompasses all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences."

Alternative Health Watch- "provides full text for 180 publications in the collection, including full text for many peer-reviewed journals...[with] in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990."

CINAHL Plus with Full Text- indexes over 3000 nursing, allied health, and related journals, including full text for over 330 journals, as far back as 1937.

Consumer Health Complete- "is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc."

Health Source - Consumer Edition- provides "information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health;... features searchable full text for nearly 150 journals,...[and] is updated on a daily basis."

MEDLINE (EBSCO)- indexes more than 4,000 medical journals, published in the United States and dozens of foreign countries, covering a wide variety of biomedical and related fields.

Science Direct- provides full image articles from more than 1000 agriculture, arts and humanities, astronomy, biology, business, chemistry, clinical medicine, computer science, earth and planetary sciences, economics, engineering, energy and technology, environmental science, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social and behavioral sciences journals. Click on either the Publications button or the Search button to begin your search.


Websites


American Dietetic Association- This is the site of the world's largest organization of food and nutrition professionals. It offers information on research, education, journals and publications, conferences, advocacy and professional development all pertaining to dietetics.

International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) Database- This site "provides access to bibliographic citations and abstracts from published, international, and scientific literature on dietary supplements." It is cosponsored by the Office of Dietary Supplements of the National Institutes of Health and the Food and Nutrition Information Center of the United States Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library.

MEDLINEPlus- is a"goldmine of good health information from the world's largest medical library, the National Library of Medicine."

PubMed - "a service of the National Library of Medicine, it provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources."


by Carlton Nelson last modified 05-26-2010 10:21