February 12, 2012
Document Actions

Educational Leadership



Education, therefore, is a process of living and not a preparation for future living. - John Dewey

Educational Leadership has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.

Education L
Educational leadership LB
School management and organization LB2805
School principals LB2831.9
College presidents LB2341
School supervision LB2806
School administrators LB2831.6
School boards LB2831
College administrators LB2341


Educational Leadership Print Resources


Dictionaries


The Greenwood Dictionary of Education. - Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2003. This resource provides definitions for over 2,600 terms in the fields of educational research, practice and theory. In addition, some references to significant historical educational events are included. [REF LB15.G68 2003]

Learning Theories, A to Z. - Westport, Conn.: Oryx Press, 2002. This resource defines over 500 education terms and matches the term to its corresponding major learning theory, such as behaviorism, cognitivism, constructivism, humanism or organizational learning. [REF LB15.L4695 2002]

A Critical Dictionary of Educational Concepts: An Appraisal of Selected Ideas and Issues in Educational Theory and Practice. - New York: Teachers College Press, Teachers College, Columbia University, 1990. This reference work defines terms and as well as discusses both sides of controversial issues. It contains a bibliography and is useful for education students. [REF LB15.B29 1990]


Encyclopedias


Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration. - 2 vols. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage, 2006. This resource contains 600 entries that pertain to the theories, terms, concepts, and histories to affect educational leadership and school administration. It also contains some brief biographical profiles of influential leaders in the field of education. [REF LB2805.E527 2006]

Encyclopedia of Education and Human Development. - 3 vols. Armonk, N.Y.: M.E. Sharpe, 2005. This reference tool is useful for both professionals and students. It covers educational theory and practice, instruction, educational assessment, technologies in education, philosophical, social, and political issues and much more. It encompasses all education levels. [REF LB15.E473 2005]

Encyclopedia of Education. - 8 vols. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2003. This resource contains more than 850 articles discussing the different fields of education, including assessment, state departments of education, legislation and court cases. It includes a detailed index. [Electronic Resource]

World Education Encyclopedia: A Survey of Educational Systems Worldwide. - 3 vols. Detroit, MI: Gale Group, 2001- This resource gives readers detailed information on the history, legal foundations, and primary and secondary educational systems of over 200 countries. [Electronic Resource]

Encyclopedia of Educational Research. - 4 vols. New York: Macmillan; Toronto: Maxwell Macmillan Canada; New York: Maxwell Macmillan International, 1992. This resource provides in-depth information about educational research for all educational levels. It contains more than 250 articles that are cross-referenced and some provide bibliographies. [REF LB15.E48 1992]


Handbooks


Instructional Leadership: A Research Based Guide to Learning in Schools. - Boston: Pearson, 2009. This resource is written for principles and other instructional leaders. It focuses on current theories of teaching and learning, student differences, classroom management, and evaluating changing school climates and cultures, student motivation and more. [LB2805.H713 2009]

International Handbook on the Preparation and Development of School Leaders. - New York: Routledge, 2008. This work provides a comprehensive and comparative review of the development of primary and secondary school leaders around the world. It discusses current issues, debates and the future of educational leadership. [LB2805.I4544 2008]

The Courage to Lead: Choosing the Road Less Traveled. - Lanham, Md: Rowman & Littlefield Education, 2006. This source covers the areas of transformational leadership, educational beliefs, creating shared visions and missions, leadership standards, building successful teams, school culture, leadership visibility, mentoring, portfolios, and celebrating success. It contains bibliographical references and an index. [LB2805.S5414 2006]


Journals


Educational Leadership. - Published by the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development, this journal provides authoritative information about teaching, learning, new ideas and practices for educators and the current trends and issues affecting all levels. [PER L11.E443]

Journal of School Leadership. - This scholarly journal focuses on research that looks at problems pertaining to contemporary school leadership practice and that discusses how to teach courses on school leadership and policy. [PER LB2805.J68]

Educational Administration Quarterly. - This journal presents observational, experimental, and visionary articles that pertain to leadership and policy issues of educational organizations. [PER LB2805.E34]

Review of Educational Research. - This journal publishes scholarly reviews that are relevant to the fields of education and educational research. Research reviews of other disciplines, such as psychology, sociology, history, philosophy, political science, economics, and more are included if they relate to educational issues. [PER L11.R35]

The Journal of Educational Administration. - This journal is directed to principals, superintendents, and education directors that have an interest in educational administration theories. Some of the issues discussed are policy implementation, leadership styles, technological developments, and decentralization. [PER LB2806.J6]


Educational Leadership Electronic Resources


Databases


Academic Search Complete- has citations and full text articles from peer-reviewed journals in social sciences, humanities, music, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc.

Education Full Text- indexes and abstracts periodicals and books dealing with all aspects of education. It also includes full text/full image articles.

Emerald- provides full text articles from hundreds of journals in the fields of criminal justice, economics, education, engineering, healthcare, librarianship, management, marketing, and more.

ERIC (from EBSCO)- "contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals."

JSTOR- is a full image database of back issues of scholarly journals in African American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics.

Mental Measurements Yearbook- "contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks." A second browser window will open automatically, where you will have to check Mental Measurements Yearbook and then click on Open Selected Databases. [Uses Pop-Up Windows]

NAESP- gives access to several newsletters via UTPA Library's membership in the National Association of Elementary School Principals. These include Leadership Compass, Research Roundup, Middle Matters, and Student and Community News Today. Use 000021288 for the ID# and edinburg for the City.

PsycINFO- "contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology {and psychological aspects of other disciplines]. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages."

SocINDEX with Full Text- has millions of citations and articles, from thousands of journals (some going back to 1895), plus conference papers, books, and other items.

Teacher Reference Center (TRC)- This new education database provides key education topics such as assessment, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, instructional media, language arts, literary standards, science and mathematics, and more for K-12 education students, teachers, and librarians. It includes an index of over 260 titles from the most popular education trade journals, periodicals, and books.


Websites


National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)- lets you search for schools and school districts, and provides a myriad of statistics.

American Association of School Administrators (AASA)- This Website is part of a professional organization of educational leaders. It provides support, news and other information for school system leaders.

National Education Association (NEA)- This Website is hosted by a professional organization that works to advance the cause of public education. It offers information about current issues, classroom tools and ideas, grants, and important educational events.

Texas Education Agency (TEA)- The Texas Education Agency provides information about the State Board of Education, certification, funding, testing, curriculum, reports, news and current events in education, specifically in Texas.

Education Commission of the States (ECS)- This site allows educational leaders to exchange information and ideas. Its mission is to help states create policies and practices for public education.

Educator's Reference Desk- provides "access [to] AskERIC's 2,000+ lesson plans, 3,000+ links to online education information, and 200+ question archive responses."


by Carlton Nelson last modified 05-27-2010 10:08