March 12, 2010
Document Actions

Engineering - Manufacturing



Engineering has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.

Engineering TA145
Production Engineering TS176
Manufacturing Processes TS180-205
Materials Handling TS161
Production Planning TS176
Industrial Engineering TS176
Quality Control TS156
Computer Integrated Manufacturing Systems TA174
Production Control TS155


Manufacturing Engineering Print Resources


Manufacturing Engineering - Reference Sources


Engineering Design Reliability Handbook.  Published by Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press 2005.  "A valuable addition to the reliability literature, it presents an industrial perspective of non-deterministic approaches and documented stories and quantifies the benefits of these approaches. It considers the issue of modeling uncertainty when data is scarce and provides a comparison of non-deterministic approaches, both numerically and experimentally in design problems." [ TA174 .E544 2005]

Manufacturing Engineering Handbook. Published by New York: McGraw-Hill, 2004. "Includes information on product development and design; manufacturing automation and technologies; heat treating, hot working, and metalforming; metalworking, moldmaking, and machine design; robotics, machine vision and surface preparation; and manufacturing processes design." [ TS176 .M3615 2004]

Plastics engineering, manufacturing and data handbook.  Published by Boston, MA: Kluwer Academic Publishers, 2001.  2 Volumes. Covers fundamentals and processes and design, testing, marketing and regulations. [ REF TA455 .P5 P529 2001]

Plastic product material and process selection handbook.  Published by New York: Elsevier, 2004.  Chapters cover properties, fabricating products, injection molding, extrusion, blow molding, thermoforming, foaming, calendering, coating, casting, reaction injection molding, rotational molding, compression molding, reinforced plastics, mold and die tooling.  "An essential resource for those involved in design, quality control, processing, specifying and manufacturing in plastics."  [ TA455 .P5 R65 2004]

Top of Page


Manufacturing Engineering - Journals


See Journals - Subject Headings in Engineering and Applied Sciences for a more comprehensive listing of journals.

American machinist. Published by Penton Publishing, Cleveland, OH.  "Edited for those responsible for all manufacturing operations in the durable goods/metal-working department."   [ Electronic Source]

Computers & industrial engineering.  Published by Elsevier Inc.  ""The journal aims at an audience of researchers, educators and practitioners of industrial engineering and associated fields.  It publishes original contributions to the development of new computerized methodologies for solving industrial engineering problems, and applications of these methodologies to problems of interest to the broad industrial engineering and associated communities."   [ Electronic Source]

Computers in industry. Published by Elsevier B.V.  "This journal publishes with the intent to show new trends and options for the use of information and communication technology in industry; link or integrate different technology fields in the broad area of computer-applications for industry; and link or integrate different application areas of ICT in industry."   [ Electronic Source]

Dynamical systems.  Published by Taylor & Francis, Ltd., UK.  "Designed to serve as an outlet for original research work concerning the stability, instability, bifurcation & oscillatory behavior of natural & man-made systems."  [ Electronic Source]

Engineered systems.  Published by BNP Media, Troy, MI.  "Provides information to assist people who specify, install, buy, and maintain commercial, industrial, and institutional hvac/r systems. Contains feature article, issues and events, and literature and product profiles."  [ Electronic Source]

Ergonomics. Published by Taylor & Francis, Ltd., UK.  " Multidisciplinary articles and reviews concerned with research into all aspects of people at work."  [ Electronic Source]

Foundry management & technology. Published by Penton Publishing, Cleveland, OH.  " Feature articles, commentary and news aimed at administrative and production management, technical and purchasing personnel in metalcasting plants producing primarily sand, permanent mold, investment, expendable pattern and centrifugal castings."  [ Electronic Source]

Human factors and ergonomics in manufacturing. Published by John Wiley & Sons, New Jersey.  "Facilitates discovery, integration, & application of scientific knowledge about human aspects of manufacturing & provides a forum for worldwide dissemination of such knowledge for its application & benefit to manufacturing industries."  [ Electronic Source]

Industrial engineer. Published by the Institute of Industrial Engineers, Norcross, GA.  "Topics include environmental applications, technology management, and concerns of industrial engineering. Articles, product reviews, and industry news."   [ Electronic Source]

Industry week. Published by Penton Publishing, Cleveland, OH.  "A management magazine aimed at executives with management responsibilities in administration or finance, production, engineering, purchasing or marketing and sales."  [ TS300 .I745 and Electronic Source]

International journal of industrial ergonomics. Published by Elsevier B.V.  "The journal publishes original contributions that add to our understanding of the role of humans in today's systems and the interaction thereof with various system components.  The journal typically covers the following areas:  industrial and occupational ergonomics, design of systems, tools and equipment, human performance measurement and modeling, human productivity, humans in technologically complex systems and safety."   [ Electronic Source]

International journal of industrial organization.  Published by Elsevier B.V.  "An international journal that aims at full coverage of theoretical and empirical questions in industrial organization.  Includes classic questions of strategic behavior and market structure.  Also publishes articles that deal with technological change, internal organization of firms, regulation, antitrust and productivity analysis.  [ Electronic Source]

International journal of operations & production management.  Published by Emerald Group Publishing Limited.  "Journal provides communication medium for all those working in the operation management field including academia, industry or consultancy. Covers capacity planning and control, e-business and operations, global operations management, information and knowledge management, lean/agile operations, management of technology for operations and more.  [ Electronic Source]

International journal of pressure vessels and piping.  Published by Elsevier Ltd.  Journal publishes the latest research results and related information on all associated aspects of industry, particularly on structural integrity assessment, maintenance and life extension of pressurized process engineering plants.  Topics include pressure vessel engineering, structural integrity assessment, design methods, codes and standards, fabrication and welding, materials properties requirements, maintenance and life extension and more.  [ Electronic Source]

International journal of production research.  Published by Taylor & Francis, Ltd., UK.  "Deals with technology & fundamental behavior of production resources."  [ Electronic Source]

International journal of project management. Published by Elsevier Ltd.  "Covers all aspects of project management, providing focus for worldwide expertise in the required techniques, practices and areas of research; presents a forum for readers to share common experiences across the full range of industries and technologies in which project management is used, etc.  Application areas include information systems, strategic planning, research and development, system design and implementation, engineering and construction projects, finance, leisure projects and much more."  [ Electronic Source]

International journal of quality & reliability management. Published by Emerald Group Publishing Limited.  "Journal deals with all aspects of business and manufacturing improvements, from training of senior managers in total quality management techniques to innovations in processing and production.  Covers equipment maintenance and availability, gauging, calibration and measurement, life cycle costing, marketing aspects of quality, product liability, and more.   [ Electronic Source]

Journal of advanced manufacturing systems. Published by World Scientific Publishing Company, Singapore.  "Publishes original papers pertaining to state-of-the-art research & development, product development, process planning, resource planning, applications, & tools in the areas related to advanced manufacturing."  [ Electronic Source]

Journal of dynamical and control systems.   Published by Springer, Netherlands.  Examines the entire spectrum of issues related to dynamical systems, focusing on the theory of smooth dynamical systems with analyses of measure-theoretical, topological, and bifurcational aspects.  Covers all essential branches of the theory-local, semilocal, and global-including the theory of foliations.  Also publishes articles devoted to control systems research that spotlight the geometric control theory, which unifies Lie-algebraic and differential-geometric methods of investigation in control and optimization, and ultimately relates to the general theory of dynamical systems.    [ Electronic Source]

Journal of engineered fibers and fabrics.  Published by the Association of the Nonwoven Fabrics Industry.  "This journal is an international, peer-reviewed scientific e-Journal that publishes original R&D on all aspects of fabric technologies and their value chain from raw materials to end use products."  [ Electronic Source]

Journal of failure analysis and prevention. Published by Springer Science and Business Media B.V., Netherlands.  "Presents information gathering techniques, technical analysis, and emerging tools that assist failure analysis professionals in determining the cause of failures and eliminating failures in the future."  [ Electronic Source]

Journal of instrumentation. Published by the Institute of Physics.  "Covers major areas related to concepts and instrumentation in detector physics, accelerator science and associated experimental methods and techniques, theory, modeling and simulations.  Main subject areas include instrumentation and hardware for accelerators: particles, synchrotron radiation, neutrons; detector physics: concepts, processes, methods, modeling and simulations; instrumentation and methods for plasma research; algorithms, software and data reduction methods, engineering and technical issues and more."  [ Electronic Source]

Journal of intelligent manufacturing.  Published by Springer Netherlands.  "Provides a unique international forum for developers of intelligent manufacturing systems, linking the research community and practitioners in industry." [ Electronic Source]

Journal of management research. Published by South Asia Publications, India.  "Provides new research in management."  [ Electronic Source]

Journal of manufacturing technology management. Published by Emerald Group Publishing Limited.  "Provides broad international coverage of subjects relating to the management of manufacturing technology and the integration of the design, production, marketing and supply functions of enterprises.  Emphasis placed on publication of articles linking theory with practical application or critically analyze real cases with objective of identifying good practice in manufacturing." [ Electronic Source]

Journal of quality in maintenance engineering.  Published by Emerald Group Publishing Limited.  "Journal publishes articles looking at maintenance engineering including budget and control, equipment management, process capability and maintenance, process monitoring techniques, reliability-based maintenance, replacement and life cycle costs and more."  [ Electronic Source]

Manufacturers' monthly. Published by Reed Business Information, New York, NY.  "Analyzes the issues affecting the manufacturing industry; provides high-tech answers; & highlights the latest equipment, applications & best manufacturing practices."  [ Electronic Source]

Manufacturing business technology.  Published by Reed Business Information, New York, NY.  "Dedicated to information technologies with a primary focus on enterprise management & supply-chain software, computer hardware & data collection technologies."  [ Electronic Source]

Material handling management. Published by Penton Publishing, Cleveland, OH.  "Edited for the executive responsible for the material handling function in manufacturing or distribution. Covers the application of material handling products & systems as a means of increasing productivity, cutting operating costs, improving safety, etc."  [ Electronic Source]

Material handling product news.  Published by Reed Business Information, New York, NY.  "The new-product tabloid for plant engineers & executives responsible for materials handling in general manufacturing, warehousing & distribution companies."  [ Electronic Source]

Materials and manufacturing processes. Published by Taylor & Francis, UK.  "Deals with issues that result in better utilization of raw materials and energy, integration of design and manufacturing activities requiring the invention of suitable new manufacturing processes and techniques, and more."  [ Electronic Source]

Plant engineering.  Published by Reed Business Information, New York, NY.  "Timely news of note, suggestions and solutions, new equipment, personnel, management and feature articles aimed at the professional plant engineer."  [ Electronic Source]

Product design & development.  Published by Advantage Business Media, New Jersey.  "The only product news tabloid that reaches design engineers and engineering management in the original equipment market with information on the components, materials & systems that can be incorporated into the end products for consumers, industry and government." [ Electronic Source]

Production and operations management. Published by Blackwell Publishing Ltd., UK.  "Scientific research into the problems, interest, and concerns of managers who manage product and process design, operations, and supply chains."  [ Electronic Source]

Production planning & control.  Published by Taylor & Francis, Ltd., UK.  "Covers all aspects of production planning & control."  [ Electronic Source]

Professional safety. Published by American Society of Safety Engineers, Des Plaines, IL.  "A peer-reviewed journal keeping the Professional Safety Specialist informed on developments in the research and technology of accident prevention." [ Electronic Source]

Structural and multidisciplinary optimization.  Published by Springer Berlin/Heidelberg.  "Official journal of the International Society of Structural and Multidisciplinary Optimization, covers all aspects of the field, including topics dealing with designing optimal structures (stressed systems), and multidisciplinary optimization techniques when one of the disciplines deals with structures (stressed solids) or fluids."  [ Electronic Source]

Supervision. Published by the National Research Bureau, Burlington, Iowa. "Feature articles aimed at teaching vital facts on minimizing costs and maximizing output for supervisors in industrial relations and operating management."  [ Electronic Source]

Top of Page


Manufacturing Engineering Electronic Resources


Manufacturing Engineering - Databases


Academic Search Complete has citations and full text articles from peer-reviewed journals in social sciences, humanities, music, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc.

ACM: Association for Computing Machinery includes magazines and journal articles, conference proceedings, etc.  Only the journal articles are available in full text; click on Digital Library to search for them.

Applied Science and Technology Full Text provides citations, abstracts, and some full text/full image from over 500 engineering, technology, and applied science publications.  

arXiv.org archives preprints in physics, computer science, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, and quantitative biology.

Astrophysics Data System from NASA includes abstracts (and some full text) on astronomy and astrophysics, instrumentation, physics and geophysics,and Los Alamos preprints.

Computer Source provides the "latest information on trends in high technology...with abstracts and indexing for over 150 titles."

DISCovering Science provides comprehensive coverage to a number of scientific disciplines, but not at an advanced level.

EEVL Xtra cross-searches 20 databases, including content from over 50 publishers, to find articles, books, technical reports and data, eprints, the latest research, industry news, job announcements and quality websites, etc., in engineering, mathematics and computing.  It includes some full text articles.

Ei Engineering Village includes Compendex Web and a variety of other engineering sources/information.

Emerald provides full text articles from hundreds of journals in the fields of criminal justice, economics, education, engineering, healthcare, librarianship, management, marketing, and more.

Energy Citations Databases "contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC)."

GreenFile: This new database covers alternative fuel sources, energy conservation, global warming, natural resources, pollution, recycling, and beyond.  Anyone with an interest in environmental issues and who needs resource material regarding these subjects will find this database to be an invaluable tool.

HCI Bibliography "provides a bibliographic database [of over 20,000 records] on Human-Computer I interaction."

HighWire Press "is one of the two largest archives of free full-text science on Earth...assisting in the online publication of...[hundreds of thousands of] free full-text articles."

IEEE/IEE Electronic Library Online has nearly a third of the world's current literature in electrical engineering, electronics, and computer science, including full text database of journals, conference proceedings and standards in the field.

IngentaConnect has millions of citations and abstracts from more than 28,000 journals.

Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts "provides abstracts and indexing for literature related to personal computing products and developments in business, the Internet, the home, and all other applied areas...[from] over 400 of the most important trade publications, mainstream computer magazines, and professional journals."

MTS Lab Training Library provides samples of interactive training for biology and medical labs, electrical/engineering safety training, and more.

Nature Physics "publishes [full text] papers of the highest quality and significance in all areas of physics, pure and applied...[including] core physics disciplines, but...also...a broad range of topics whose central theme falls within the bounds of physics."

NSDL (National Science Digital Library) "is the Nation's FREE online library for education and research in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics."

Science & Technology Collection "contains over 800 leading full text journals" plus indexing and abstracts for hundreds more, "covering..aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science."

Science Direct provides full image articles from more than 1000 agriculture, arts and humanities, astronomy, biology, business, chemistry, clinical medicine, computer science, earth and planetary sciences, economics, engineering, energy and technology, environmental science, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social and behavioral sciences journals.  Click on either the Publications button or the Search button to begin your search.

General Science Full Text provides citations and abstracts to British and American science magazines and journals. It also includes full text/full image articles.

SciFinder Scholar is a research discovery tool that allows college students and faculty to access a wide diversity of research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more.  to use this tool: you must first REGISTER HERE to create your own user name and password.  This account will give you access to the SciFinder database.

SpringerLINK provides abstracts, full text, and full image articles from journals published by Springer.  The articles/journals are in the fields of computer science, economics, engineering, law, medicine, mathematics, and life and physical sciences.  Click on search to begin your search for articles.

Web of Knowledge contains three citation databases - Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, which include citations and some links to full text articles from 1975 to present.  We ask all participants to use the LOG OUT button at the end of each search session when they are finished, so that others may use Web of Science.  

Wiley InterScience provides full image access to over 400 journals from the Wiley publishers.  Disciplines include business, education, law, and psychology, in addition to a variety of sciences and engineering.  Click on Journal Search to look for articles.

Top of Page

Manufacturing Engineering - Websites


American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM)

International Organization for Standardization  (ISO)

International Union of Materials Research Society (IUMRS) 

Materials Research Society (MRS)

National Institute of Standards for Technology  (NIST) 

Office of Science and Technical Information (DOE)

Society for the Advancement of Material and Processing Engineering  (SAMPE) 

Society of Plastics Engineers (SPE)

U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) 

The British Institute of Non-Destructive Testing (BINDT)  "The Institute is vertically integrated and aims to cater for all who work in NDT, from professor to student and from operator to chartered engineer. Its purpose is to promote the advancement of the science and practice of NDT and all other associated materials testing disciplines - particularly condition monitoring."

eiNet.net  "eiNET is the original searchable Internet directory whose mission is to provide contextually relevant information by integrating state-of-the-art technology with the human touch."

Materials Science Resources  Provides links to many sources on the internet; hosted by the Materials Science and Engineering Dept at State University of New York at Stonybrook.  

Top of Page


by Carlton Nelson last modified 07-27-2009 11:54