May 21, 2012
Document Actions

International Business 3330

Recommended Resources
Available at the UTPA Library
Compiled and Organized for INTB 3330.01 - Fall 2005
by Peter J. Cortez
Head Reference Librarian / Business Bibliographer
956.381.2759 (office)        pjcortez@utpa.edu
956.381.2752 (reference desk)
REFERENCE BOOKS
BUSINESS
A Basic Guide to Exporting (1998 ed - published by the U.S. Dept of Commerce)
[REF HF 1416.5.B36]
Business Rankings Annual [REF HG 4050.B88]
List of companies, products, activities, services compiled from a variety of published sources; rankings provided are usually in the form of a "top ten" list; grouped alphabetically by subject
Business Statistics of the United States [REF HC 101.A13122]
Contains more than 4,000 data series covering virtually every aspect of the U.S. economy, including GDP by state and region, employment, production, prices, productivity, international trade, money supply, and interest rates. As always, it fully incorporates historical data revisions released by government agencies.
Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries [REF HG4538.A1 D5]
The authoritative source of information on American firms, which have branches, subsidiaries, or affiliates outside the United States. Designed to aid anyone interested in American business activities abroad, this specialized listing are those in which American Firms have a substantial direct investment and which have been identified by the parent as a wholly or partially owned subsidiary, affiliate or branch.
Directory of United States Exporters  [REF HF3011 .D63  2003]
Directory of Unites States Importers [REF HF3012 .D54  2003]
Provides a geographical list of U.S. importers/exporters; provides an alphabetical listing of imported/exported products and the companies that import/export them along with important and useful information on procedures for importers/exporters
Encyclopedia of American Industries  [REF HC102 .E53 2001]
Two volume set that provides detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business.  Volume one provides separate coverage of manufacturing industries and volume two covers service and non-manufacturing industries in the United States.
Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries [REF HC102.E54]
Details the inception, emergence, and current status of flourishing U.S industries and industry segments.  Contains essays on industries with evidence of significant growth in the recent past or potential for exemplary growth in the near future.  Also focuses on off-shoots of relatively new industries.
Encyclopedia of Global Industries  [REF HD2324 .E53  2003]
Presents information on more than 125 business sectors of global significance; discusses the origins, development, trends, key statistics, and current international character of the world's most lucrative, dynamic, and widely researched industries including hundreds of profiles of leading international corporations.  Beginning researchers will gain a solid understanding of how each industry operates and which countries and companies are significant participants.
Exporters' Encyclopaedia  [REF HF3011 .E9  2004-05]
Provides an international geographical breakdown of export markets, trade regulations, marketing data, key contacts, business travel and more.
European Marketing Data & Statistics [REF HA1107.E87]
A compendium of statistical information on the countries of Western and Eastern Europe; provides a wealth of detailed and up-to-date statistical information relevant to international market planning; other countries found in International Marketing Data & Statistics
Foreign Trade of the United States [REF HF1416.5 .F68 1999]
Provides comprehensive statistical information about U.S. imports and exports of both goods and services; a complete accounting of U.S. international transactions from 1960 to 1999; U.S. exports of goods by destination, and imports by country or region of origin; U.S. exports and imports of agricultural and manufactured goods, and goods trade balances, with nearly 200 countries and country groups; and other related topics.
Hoover's Handbook of World Business [REF HG4009.H66]
Profiles major global enterprises, indexes companies by industries and headquarters location.  Information provided includes a company's history, its products or services, its competitors, etc.
Hoover's MasterList of U.S. Companies [REF HF5035.H66]
Contains essential information on over 10,000 companies.  Covers all U.S. companies traded on the major stock exchanges, the largest and most important private enterprises in the U.S. including government owned enterprises, foundations and major subsidiaries of U.S. and non-U.S. corporations that contribute to the U.S. economy.
International Directory of Company Histories  [REF HD2721 .I63]
Provides detailed information about the historical development of the world's most important companies.
International Marketing Data & Statistics [REF HA 42.I56]
A compendium of statistical information on the countries of the Americas, Asia, Africa and Oceania; provides a wealth of detailed and up-to-date statistical information relevant to international market planning; information on European countries found in European Marketing Data & Statistics
Lexis-Nexis Corporate Affiliations  [REF HG4057 .A217]
Contains a collection of detailed information for major private and public companies headquartered inside and outside of the U.S. and provides corporate family trees, direct reportages and key data of these corporations.
Manufacturing & Distribution USA - Industry Analyses, Statistics and Leading Companies  [REF HD9723 .M36]
Provides industry histories, projections and company information for each industry in the area of manufacturing.
Market Share Reporter  [REF HF1040.9 .G2]
An annual compilation of reported market share data on companies, products, and services.
Standard and Poor Industry Survey [REF HG4961 .S752]
Provides industry information and economic trends on 51 major US industries included in the Global Industry Classification Standard (GICS).  This source will provide users with a comprehensive industry perspective with textual analysis, commentary, and statistical data and charts.  Also provides projections, trends, regulatory issues, historical perspectives and in-depth analyses. 
Standard and Poor Stock Reports [REF HG4905 .S445]
Contains comprehensive two-page reports on over 3,000 companies traded on the three major U.S. exchanges - the New York Stock Exchange, the Nasdaq stock market, and the American Stock Exchange.
Value Line [REF HG4501 .V26]
Comprehensive source of information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market and the economy.
Ward's Business Directory [REF HG4057.A3 W375]
Comprehensive guide to companies in alphabetic, geographic, and industry arrangements.  Provides rankings by sales according to SIC and NAICS. Provides rankings and analyses of the industry activity of leading companies.  Divided into companies located in the U.S., Canada and Mexico.
COUNTRY INFORMATION
Europa World Year Book  [REF JN1 .E85  2004]
Provides detailed information on countries from around the world relating to recent history, economic affairs, government, education, health and welfare, finance, trade, tourism, trade and industry, trade unions, etc.
Regional Surveys of the World (various volumes cover different parts of the world)
Africa south of the Sahara [REF DT351 .A37  2002]
Central and south-eastern Europe [REF HC244.A1 C46  2002]
Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia [REF HC244.A1 E293  2000]
The Middle East and North Africa [REF DS49 .M5  2002]
South America, Central America and the Caribbean [REF F1401 .S68 2001]
The USA and Canada [REF E838 .U83  2002]
The Statesman's Yearbook: The Politics, Cultures and Economies
of the World [REF JA51.S7]
Provides information for countries around the world relating to history, education, climate, government, economy, trade, international relations, industry, natural resources, international trade, etc.
CULTURE
Countries and Their Cultures [REF GN 307.C68 2001]
Encyclopedia of World Cultures [REF GN 307.E53 1991]
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life [REF GN 333.W67 1998]
ELECTRONIC RESOURCES
Library Databases
Business Source Premier
Mergent Online - Search for information on individual companies or industries.  Also contains a Country Profile tool
LEXIS-NEXIS - Search "Business" link from left margin for Business News, Company Profiles, Industry & Market or Search "Reference" for Country Profiles and World Almanac
STAT-USA (contains information from the National Trade Data Bank--available only in the library)
Web Sites
CIA World Fact Book - http://www.cia.gov/cia/publications/factbook/
Contains extensive list of maps and Country Profiles
Library of Congress - http://www.loc.gov
Click on the "Global Gateway" link near the top of the page.
Click on "Portals to the World" for a list of electronic resources on nations of the world. or Click on "Research Guides and Databases" for Country Studies.
U.S. Department of Commerce - http://www.commerce.gov/
Scroll down the screen to the "Free Trade" section for information on trade opportunities and export information.
U.S. Department of State - http://www.state.gov/index.htm
Explore the "Countries and Regions" and "Business Center" links found in the menu bar near the top of the screen.
U.S. Government Export Portal - http://www.export.gov/
Organizes export-related programs, services and market research information from across 19 federal agencies and provides a sophisticated cross-agency search capability.
by vcarrillo last modified 12-08-2006 15:55