May 21, 2012
Document Actions

Library Databases

When scientists do experiments to conduct research, they often publish the results of their research in magazines and journals. One good way to find the articles about scientific research and discoveries is to search our web databases. You can search these databases to look for articles about specific scientists, types of research, general scientific subjects, specific kinds of plants and animals, or almost anything else. The databases provide citations (author, title, journal name, date, page number) and summaries of the articles. Often they will provide text (just the words) copies of the articles. And sometimes they provide the complete article, exactly the way it appeared in the original magazine or journal.

Here are some UTPA databases that are good for science.


Academic Search Complete AGRICOLA
American Chemical Society Biological Abstracts
IEEE/IEE IOP
JSTOR Nature Archives
Nature Physics Science & Technology Collection
Science Direct Science Full Text
ERIC Professional Development Collection

Here are some other good UTPA databases to search.


Encyclopedia of Animals Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia Kids Search
MasterFILE Premier MAS Ultra: School Edition
Middle Search Plus Student Research Center
TOPICsearch

Usually you search databases to see if they have articles on your topic. But sometimes you already have a specific article in mind, and you want to find out if that articles is available in the library. If you already had this citation to an article, could you determine whether or not it's available at the library?

Example Citation:

ENVIRONMENTAL ISSUES ALONG THE UNITED STATES-MEXICO BORDER: Drivers of Change and Responses of Citizens and Institutions. By: Liverman, Diana M.; Varady, Robert G.; Chavez, Octavio; Sanchez, Roberto. Annual Review of Energy & the Environment, 1999, Vol. 24 Issue 1, p607, 37p.




Middle School Science Research
Library Catalogs Library Databases Other Databases and Web Sites Other Websites
by wprice last modified 07-06-2007 08:08