February 11, 2012
Document Actions

Mathematics



Mathematics has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.

Mathematics QA
Tables QA47-59
Instruments and Machines QA71-90
Arithmetic QA101-145
Algebra QA150-272.5
Probabilities QA273-280
Mathematical Analysis QA299.6-433
Geometry QA445-501
Trigonometry QA531
Topology QA611-612
Analytic Mechanics QA801-939

Titles regarding the teaching of mathematics may be found in the LB and LC call number range of the library. Please check the library catalog for specific topics. Titles regarding computing are not included in the subject guide.



Mathematics Print Resources


Dictionaries


Biographical Dictionary of Mathematics. - This four volume reference set by the American Council of Learned Societies details all of the important individuals and there contributions to the field of math.[REF QA28.B534 1991]

The Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics. - Defines statistical terms for all areas of the field. Entries are arranged alphabetically and include short biographies of statisticians. Terms are cross-referenced.[REF QA276.15.E84 1998]

Dictionary of Applied Math for Engineers and Scientists. - This reference work details the main mathematical concepts and theorems that are crucial to the field of science including engineering.[REF QA5.D49835 2003]

Dictionary of Mathematics in Four Languages - 2 volumes. Provides an alphabetical listing of mathematical terms in English, German, French, and Russian languages in the area of pure mathematics. Volume 1 lists terms in English with foreign equivalents. Volume 2 provides terms in German, French and Russian. Terms are cross reference with English equivalent.[REF QA5.E35 1982]

Dictionary of Scientific Biography. - Volumes 1-18. Provides biographical information on scientists from antiquity to modern times, focusing on the professional lives and their scientific work. Entries include mathematicians as well as scientists.[REF Q141.D5]

A Dictionary of Statistical, Scienctific and Technical Terms. - Terms are English to Spanish/Spanish to English. Entries are alphabetically arranged and include terms used in probability, mathematics, actuarial science, computer science, biology, education, agriculture, demography, psychology, statistics (theoretical and applied), operations research, experimental sciences, and other fields.[REF QA276.14.S23]

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Mathematics. - English Ed. 4 volumes. Third edition of the Mathematical Society of Japan's Iwsnami Suyakuziten. Arrangement is alphabetical.[REF QA5 .I8313 1987 ]

Mathematically Speaking: a Dictionary of Quotations. - is a book of mathematical sayings by important persons both in the field of mathematics and outside of it.[QA99 .M363 1998 ]

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Mathematics. - covers every discipline of mathematics and provides synonyms, acronyms, as well abbreviations. It includes over 4,000 essential terms and has extensive appendices.[Electronic Book]

The Penguin Dictionary of Mathematics. - is a basic reference resource that provides definitions of mathematical terms for all levels of the discipline.[QA 37.2 .D35 1989]

Webster's New World Dictionary of Mathematics. - This is a concise reference book of mathematical definitions for all individuals involved in studying math and its variable fields.[QA5 .K27 1989]


Encyclopedias


The CRC Encyclopedia of Mathematics. - This three volume set has articles that discuss the important theorems and vocabulary words of mathematics. Included in the various articles are both illustrations and mathematical formulas.[REF QA5.W45 2009]

Encyclopedia of Integer Sequences. - is a work that details the major integers sequences of high level mathematical problem solving.[QA246.5 .S66 1995]

Encyclopedia of Mathematics. - This single volume covers the field of mathematics, featuring more than 800 crossed-referenced entries. It also includes six essays detailing the evolution of algebra and equations as well as other fundamental concepts of mathematics.[REF QA5 .T34 2005]

Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education. - This reference book was designed to fulfill a need for an overall view of mathematics education, bringing together its most pertinent aspects at the elementary, secondary, and postsecondary levels. Articles include references and graphics showing mathematical formulas.[REF QA11.E665 2001]

Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences. - Volumes 1-9. Covers topics in area of statistical theory and applications of statistical methods in various fields. Entries are cross-referenced and arranged lexicographically.[REF QA276.14.E5]


Journals


Advances in Geometry - This periodical publishes original research articles in the broad area of geometry.[Electronic Resource]

Annals of Mathematics. - is a bimonthly mathematics research journal published by Princeton University and the Institute for Advanced Study. It publishes analysis of research being done in the field of applied and pure mathematics.[PER QA1 .A6]

Bulletin (new series) of the American Mathematical Society. - publishes expository articles on contemporary mathematical research written in a way that gives insight to mathematicians who may not be experts in the particular topic.[PER QA1 .B84]

Discrete Applied Mathematics. - The aim of Discrete Applied Mathematics is to bring together research papers in different areas of algorithmic and applicable discrete mathematics as well as applications of combinatorial mathematics to informatics and various areas of science and technology.[Electronic Resource]

Duke Mathematical Journal. - Published by Duke University Press since its inception in 1935, it comes out monthly and details current research [PER QA1 .D8]

International Journal of Mathematics. - This is a monthly publication that discusses new research being done in all the fields of mathematics.[PER QA1 .I8325]

Journal of Algebra - is a leading international journal and publishes papers that demonstrate high quality research results in algebra and related computational aspects.[Electronic Resource]

Mathematical Reviews - is a journal and online database published by the American Mathematical Society (AMS) that contains brief synopses and occasionally evaluations of many articles in mathematics, statistics and theoretical computer science.[PER QA1 .M76]

The Mathematics Teacher - is publish by the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics. The journal is devoted to improving mathematics instructionfor grades 8-14 and supporting teacher education programs.[PER QA1 .N28]

Transactions of the American Mathematical Society - is a publication that is devoted entirely to research in pure and applied mathematics.[PER QA1 .A522]


Misc. Reference Materials


Abstracts of Papers Presented the American Mathematical Society. - Volumes 1-30. Lists author provided abastracts of papers to be presented at American Mathematical Society meetings.[REF QA1.A517]

CRC Handbook of Tables for Probability and Statistics. - 2nd edition. Reference handbook of standard statistical tables.[REF QA276.25.B48]

CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae - 29th edition. Handbook of numerical tables, conversion tales, and financial tables. Arrangement is by mathematical area.[REF QA47.M315]

Mathematical Reviews. - 1940 to present. Provides reviews of journal articles and books in the area of mathematics. Issues before 2007 are located on the 4th floor.[REF QA1.M76(2007 to present)]


Mathematics Electronic Resources


Databases


Academic Search Complete - has citations and full text articles from peer-reviewed journals in mathematics, social sciences, humanities, music, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc.

Applied Science and Technology Full Text - provides citations, abstracts, and some full text/full image from over 500 engineering, technology, and applied science publications.

DISCovering Science - provides comprehensive coverage to a number of scientific disciplines, but not at an advanced level.

Education Full Text - indexes and abstracts periodicals and books dealing with all aspects of education. It also includes full text/full image articles..

EEVL Xtra - cross-searches 20 databases, including content from over 50 publishers, to find articles, books, technical reports and data, eprints, the latest research, industry news, job announcements and quality websites, etc, in engineering, mathematics and computing. It includes some full text articles.

ERIC (from EBSCO) - "contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals."

JSTOR - is a full image database of back issues of scholarly journals in African American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics.

MathSciNet - "is the searchable Web database providing access to ... Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications, ... produced by the American Mathematical Society." The latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader (4.x) should be used for this product.

Science Full Text - provides citations and abstracts to British and American science magazines and journals. It also includes full text/full image articles.

Science Direct - provides full image articles from more than 1000 agriculture, arts and humanities, astronomy, biology, business, chemistry, clinical medicine, computer science, earth and planetary sciences, economics, engineering, energy and technology, environmental science, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social and behavioral sciences journals. Click on either the Publications button or the Search button to begin your search.

Teacher Reference Center - This new education database provides key education topics such as assessment, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, instructional media, language arts, literary standards, science and mathematics, and more for K-12 education students, teachers, and librarians. It includes an index of over 260 titles from the most popular education trade journals, periodicals, and books.

Wiley InterScience - provides full image access to over 400 journals from the Wiley publishers. Disciplines include business, education, law, and psychology, in addition to a variety of sciences and engineering. Click on Journal Search to look for articles.


Websites


American Mathematical Society - Full-text access to eight journals published by the American Mathematical Society.

American Statistical Association> - The website of the American Statistical Association. It includes links and online content for teachers and academics involved in statistical analysis.

arXiv.org - archives preprints in physics, computer science, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, and quantitative biology.

Hypermath - Created by Georgia State University this web based tool is a growing collection of examples of applied mathematics with links to their applications in a number of different fields.

National Council of Teachers of Mathematics - This website provides access to free content for elementary and secondary mathematics teachers.

University of Michigan Historical Math Collection - Digitized math texts from the University of Michigan Library. To read the articles, add them to your bookbag, then download.


by Carlton Nelson last modified 07-29-2009 16:33