Music
Music is the universal language of mankind. -- Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
Music has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.
| Music | ML100 |
| Ethnomusicology | ML3797 |
| Choral Music | ML2900 |
| Composition (Music) | MT40 |
| Computer Music | MT56 |
| Blues (Music) | ML3561 |
| Insturmental Music | M2 |
| Jazz | ML3561 |
| Arrangement (Music) | MT70 |
| Opera | ML1700 |
Music Print Resources
Dictionaries
The Oxford Dictionary of Music. - Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1994. This reference work covers musical subjects of in an authoritative and accessible way. Included in this resource are entries on composers, performers, conductors, musical terms and forms, instruments, works, venues, and a plethora of other topics. [REF ML100.K35]
The Harvard Dictionary of Music. - Cambridge, Mass.: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2003. This reference resource contains authoritative definitions of musical terms. It includes entries on all the styles and forms in Western music; comprehensive articles on the music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Near East; descriptions of instruments enriched by historical background; and articles that reflect today's beat, including popular music, jazz, and rock. [REF ML100.A64]
All Music Guide to Classical Music: The Definitive Guide to Classical Music. - San Francisco, CA: Backbeat Books; Berkeley, CA: Distributed to the book trade in the US and Canada by Publishers Group West, c2005. This work contains more than 500 composer and 800 performer biographies. Each artist entry includes vital statistics and album recommendations. It covers thousands of compositions and contains 23 essays devoted to classical music's major eras, forms, and genres. Choral works, songs, keyboard works, chamber music, and film scores are also discussed. [REF ML100.A42]
Musical terminology: a practical compendium in four languages. - Stuyvesant, NY: Pendragon Press, c1999. This resource provides terms most frequently found in music, with counterparts in four languages. It is helpful for the interpretation of music in multiple styles. [ML108.B55]
Encyclopedias
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. - 29 vols. New York : Grove, 2001. The New Grove Dictionary includes entries on persons and subjects. Predominantly a classical music resource, it also includes jazz, popular, and world music entries. [REF ML100.N48 2001]
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart : allgemeine Enzyklopadie der Musik. - 17 vols. Munchen: Deutscher Taschenbuch Verlag ; Kassel : Baeiter-Verlag, 1989, c1949-1986. This work is a comprehensive reference resource for music written completely in German. [REF ML100.M92]
Encyclopedia of Popular Music. - 10 vols. New York: Muze: Oxford University Press, 2006. This authoritative biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists covers popular music from 1900 to the present, including folk, blues, world music, rock, heavy metal, techno, reggae, and hip hop. [ML102.P66G84]
The Norton/Grove Concise Encyclopedia of Music. - New York: W.W. Norton, 1988. This reference tool provides quick access to accurate information about music and its practitioners, from the earliest times to the present for a wide spectrum of readers. [REF ML100.N9]
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music. - 10 vols. New York: Garland Pub., 1998-2002- . This reference work covers music from the areas of Africa; South America, Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean; United States and Canada; Southeast Asia; South Asia: the Indian subcontinent; Middle East; East Asia: China, Japan, and Korea; Europe; and Australia and the Pacific Islands. [REF ML100.G16]
Journals
Journal of music theory pedagogy. - Published by University of Oklahoma's School of Music, it began in 1987 and over the years has earned an international reputation for quality articles in music theory pedagogy. [MT10.J85]
Teaching Music. - Published by the National Association for Music Education, Teaching Music Magazine focuses on practical articles in specific areas. It includes guides on technology, advocacy resources and how-to articles in all music specialty areas. [ML1.T38]
Instrumentalist. - The focus of this magazine is to provide information and ideas for band directors of all levels. [ML1.I714]
Journal of the American Musicological Society. - This journal publishes scholarly information in the fields of historical musicology, critical theory, music analysis, iconography and organology, performance practice, aesthetics and hermeneutics, ethnomusicology, gender and sexuality, popular music, and cultural studies. It includes articles, book reviews, and communications. [ML27.U5A83363]
Musical Quarterly. - This scholarly journal focuses on the study of music and features sections that cover topics, such as "Music and Culture", "American Musics", "The Twentieth Century", "Institutions, Industries, Technologies", and "Primary Sources". Book reviews as well as reviews of new music and performances are provided. [ML1.M725]
Music Electronic Resources
Databases
Academic Search Complete- This database has citations and full text articles from peer-reviewed journals in the humanities and music, plus much more.
Classical Music Library - This database is the world's largest multi-label database of classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries. Its range includes vocal and choral music, chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera as well as over 50,000 recordings from over 1800 composers by thousands of ensembles and artists.
Encyclopedia of Music in Canada - The purpose of this database is to describe Canada's musical heritage and culture in all its breadth and depth: the past and present manifestations of popular, folk, religious, concert, and other forms of music, as well as the educational, critical, administrative, and commercial aspects of music in Canada.
Grove Music Online- This database comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, ... The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, ... and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz ... Grove Music Online continues to grow with both newly commissioned material and more articles from other Grove dictionaries.
IIMP- The International Index to Music Periodicals covers nearly all aspects of the world of music, from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes.
JSTOR- A full image database containing back issues of scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, including music.
Websites
IMSLP- Stands for the International Music Score Library Project and attempts to create a virtual library containing all public domain musical scores, as well as scores from composers who are willing to share their music with the world without charge.
Online Resources for Music Scholars- This Web site, hosted by Harvard University, provides points of interest for beginning research on various topics relating to music.
The Golden Pages- This site hosted by the Royal Holloway, University of London, offers links to scholarly information relating to the topic of music.
Worldwide Internet Music Resources- This site is hosted by Indiana University's School of Music. It contains links to information covering the topics of musicians, composers, musical genres, journals, and much more.
Music Resources- Hosted by the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki, Finland, this Web site is organized into 18 categories each covering various topics relating to music. Each main category is further subdivided with multiple links.
