Other Databases and Websites
There are other sources of good, reliable, scientific information that are available to everyone. Often they will provide only citations and summaries of articles, but sometimes they have complete articles for everyone to read. Here are some good, free databases and web sites.
arXiv.org archives preprints in physics, computer science, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, and quantitative biology.
Astrophysics Data System from NASA includes abstracts (and some full text) on astronomy and astrophysics, instrumentation, physics and geophysics, and Los Alamos preprints.
ChemFinder.Com includes chemical structures, physical properties, hyperlinks to more information, and links to other databases.
ChemWeb.Com "the largest online chemical community in the world ... combines a huge range of information for those in research chemistry, the chemicals industries and related disciplines."
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) "covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals."
EEVL Xtra cross-searches 20 databases, including content from over 50 publishers, to find articles, books, technical reports and data, eprints, the latest research, industry news, job announcements and quality websites, etc, in engineering, mathematics and computing. It includes some full text articles.
Environmental & Occupational Exposure Information from CHARTing Health Information for Texas is a clearinghouse of environmental information from the EPA, HUD, and other national and state organizations .
ERIC "sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, produces the world's premier database of journal and non-journal education literature. "
GrayLIT Network "provides a portal for over 100,000 full text technical reports located at the Department of Energy, Department of Defense, Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), and National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)."
HighWire Press "is one of the two largest archives of free full-text science on Earth ... assisting in the online publication of ...[hundreds of thousands of] free full-text articles."
National Council for Science and the Environment includes online books, Congressional reports, papers, articles, etc., many of which are full text, from the National Library for the Environment.
NSDL (National Science Digital Library) "is the Nation's FREE online library for education and research in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics."
Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences includes "cutting-edge research reports, commentaries, reviews, perspectives, colloquium papers, and actions of the Academy."
Public Library of Science is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource. It includes PLoS One.
PubMed Central "is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature."
The Royal Society "awards Royal Society Fellowships to 44 of the best scientists in recognition of their scientific achievements [each year.] It is the highest accolade a scientist can have, short of a Nobel prize." It includes the Royal Society Digital Journal Archive
Scirus "has reliable web sites in all areas of physical and biological sciences, mathematics and computer sciences, medicine, engineering, business and economics, social and behavioral sciences, language, and law."
Middle School Science
Research
Library Catalogs
Library
Databases Other Databases and Web Sites
Other Websites
by
wprice
—
last modified
07-05-2007 18:25
