February 12, 2012
Document Actions

Physical Science



Physical Science has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.

Physical Science Q160
Astronomy QB
Earth Sciences QE26.2
Geology QE
Materials Science TA403
Physics QC


Physical Science Print Resources


Atlases


Atlas of the Universe. - This reference book details the main planetary bodies of our solar system as well as discusses the major astronomical features of our universe. It has extensive illustrations and a glossary.[REF QB44.2.M66 1998]


Dictionaries


Cambridge Dictionary of Astronomy. - This is a concise reference book of terms dealing with the study of extraterrestial bodies. Included are the names of stars and other astronomical objects.[REF QB14.M55 2001]

Earth Sciences Reference. - This is an introductory tool for students beginning there study of geology. It contains easy to read concise explantions of nations, geographic features, and other information important to the study of earth science.[REF QE5.M366 1991]

The Facts on File Dictionary of Astronomy. - The dictionary contains approximately 3,700 entries that cover a broad spectrum of disciplines within the fascinating field of astronomy.[REF QB14.F3 2000]

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Materials Science. - Derived from the world-renowned McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms. It offers a wealth of essential material engineering information in an easy to use format.[REF TA402.M347 2003]

The New Penguin Dictionary of Geology. - This dictionary of current geological terms includes the latest terminology and gives over 7500 wide-ranging and concise definitions. The entries are clearly presented and cross-referenced and a bibliography of up-to-date works on all aspects of geology is provided.[REF QE5.K425 1996]

Oxford Dictionary of Physics. - This comprehensive dictionary is the ideal reference tool for students of physics, either at school or university. Containing over 3,700 entries and biographies of key scientists, it covers all commonly encountered terms and concepts of physics.[REF QC5.C56 2005]


Encyclopedias


Astronomy Encyclopedia. - Single volume encyclopedia of ideas, people, space craft, and phenomenon important to astronomy as well as space exploration. Articles in the work are concise and the book includes star charts.[REF QB14.P45 2002]

Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics. - This four volume set has 700 main and 1150 small articles as well as 650 short biographies detailing important concepts, theories, and people in the field of astrophysics and astronomy.[REF QB14.E534 2001]

The Encyclopedia of Earth: A Complete Visual Guide. - "This is a user-friendly guide to the science and history of the earth. With discussions of global warming and the environment increasing every day, this title could not have arrived at a better time. It presents a comprehensive overview of the earth, both past and present, that will engage a wide range of readers." (Asia Gross, Booklist)[REF QB631.E558 2008]

Encyclopedia of Earth System Science. - Four volume encyclopedia set the details the major theories of geology, oceanography, metrology, and other sciences that study the nature of our planet earth. Each article contains its own bibliography and glossary.[REF QE5.E514 1992]

Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology. - Eighteen volume set covers the science of technological development. An index is included in the last volume and individual articles have accompanying bibliographies.[REF Q123.E497 2002]

Encyclopedia of Physics. - Single volume reference book of important terms, ideas, and theories in the study of physics. Individual entries have a bibliography and the volume has an index.[REF QC5.E545 1991]

Encyclopedia of the Solar System. - Single volume encyclopedia that details the Earth and its surrounding solar system.[REF QB501.E53 2007]

MacMillan Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences. - Two volume set of terms and theories important to the study of geological sciences. Articles have a short bibliography and the set includes an index.[REF QE5.E5137 1996]

The Oxford Companion to The Earth. - This is a concise reference resource that provides information on geological and geographical terms relating to all phases of time for the planet Earth. Also included are short biographies of important scientists involved in the study of our planet.[REF QE5.O94 2000]


Handbooks


CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. - This reference book gives access to authoritative, up-to-date scientific data. It has extensive tables of reliable chemistry and physics information.[REF QD65.H3 2004-05]

CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook - This is a comprehensive source for data on engineering materials. Organized in an easy-to-follow format based on materials properties, the reference features new and existing data verified through major professional societies in the materials fields, such as ASM International and the American Ceramic Society.[REF TA403.4.C74 1994 ]


Journals


American Journal of Physics. - "is a scholarly periodical devoted to the educational and cultural aspects of physics."[PER QC1.A47]

Astronomy. - is a general magazine detailing developments in the study of extra-terrestrial objects. [PER QB1.A7998]

Geologica Acta. - "is an OPEN ACCES international journal that aims to stimulate rapid diffusion of results and efficient exchange of ideas between the widespread communities of Earth Science researchers (with special emphasis on Latinamerica, The Caribbean, Europe, the Mediterranean)."[Electronic Resource]

Geophysics. - "is dedicated to the advancement of the science of geophysics and the art of geophysical prospecting."[PER QE500.G4]

International Journal of Theoretical Physics. - "A Journal of original research and reviews in theoretical physics and related mathematics, dedicated to the unification of physics.[PER QC1.I64]

Journal of Materials Chemistry. - "is a weekly, international journal that publishes high impact original research that demonstrates novelty and advance, either in the chemistry used to produce materials or in the properties and application of the material produced."[PER TA401.J68]

Proceedings. Mathematical, Physical, and Engineering Sciences. - Journal created by the Royal Society to detail new developments in the physical sciences.[Electronic Resource]

Reports on Progress in Physics. - "Covering all branches of physics, this is a prestigious journal fo rthe publication of reviews surveying the development of selected topics, typically over the previours decade, within a wider context. Articles combine a critical evaluation of the field for established workers with a reliable and accessible introduction for newcomers and specialists in other fields"[PER QC3.P47]

Reviews of Modern Physics. - "is a quarterly journal seeking to enhance communication among physicists by publishing comprehensive scholarly reviews of physics topics, as well as colloquia and tutorial articles in rapidly developing fields of physics."[PER QC1.R4]


Physical Science Electronic Resources


Databases


arXiv.org - archives preprints in physics, computer science, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, and quantitative biology.

Astrophysics Data System - from NASA includes abstracts (and some full text) on astronomy and astrophysics, instrumentation, physics and geophysics, and Los Alamos preprints.

Science & Technology Collection - "contains over 800 leading full text journals" plus indexing and abstracts for hundreds more, "covering...aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science."

Science Direct - provides full image articles from more than 1000 agriculture, arts and humanities, astronomy, biology, business, chemistry, clinical medicine, computer science, earth and planetary sciences, economics, engineering, energy and technology, environmental science, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social and behavioral sciences journals. Click on either the Publications button or the Search button to begin your search.

SciFinder Scholar - SciFinder ScholarTM is a research discovery tool that allows college students and faculty to access a wide diversity of research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, material science, agricultural science, and more! To use this tool: you must first REGISTER HERE to create your own user name and password. This account will give you access to the SciFinder database.

SpringerLINK - provides abstracts, full text, and full image articles from journals published by Springer. The articles/journals are in the fields of computer science, economics, engineering, law, medicine, mathematics, and life and physical sciences. Click on search to begin your search for articles.

Wiley InterScience - provides full image access to over 400 journals from the Wiley publishers. Disciplines include astronomy, physics, and material science, in addition to a variety of other sciences and engineering. Click on Journal Search to look for articles.


Websites


Jet Propulsion Laboratory - Created by NASA this electronic resource has videos, maps, and other information relating to our solar system and the galaxy at large. Included are educational resources for all levels of academics.

NASA - Created by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration the NASA website contains information on physics, astronomy, and space exploration.

Physical Reference Data - This is a website created by the National Institute of Standards and Technology's Physics Labortory. It contains reference materail on constants, units, and uncertainty.

The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System - This is a NASA-funded project which maintains four bibliographic non-full text databases containing more than 4.2 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Instrumentation, Physics and Geophysics, and preprints in Astronomy.

Science.gov - Created by the U.S. government this website is a gateway to government science information and research results. Currently in its fifth generation, Science.gov provides a search of over 38 scientific databases and 200 million pages of science information with just one query, and is a gateway to 1,950+ scientific websites.

USGS - This is an unbiased web resource, created by a multi-disciplinary science organization supported by the U. S. Federal Government. It focuses on biology, geography, geology, geospatial information, and water, who are dedicated to the timely, relevant, and impartial study of the landscape, natural resources, and natural hazards all over the earth.-


by Carlton Nelson last modified 07-13-2009 11:55