Spanish
Spanish Literature has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.
| Spanish Language | PC4073-RC65 |
| Spanish Literature | PQ6001-8929 |
| Spanish Fiction | PQ6256 |
| Spanish Literature History and Criticism | PQ6032 |
| Spanish Drama | PQ6426-6613 |
| Spanish Poetry | PQ6075-6098 |
Spanish Literature Print Resources
Dictionaries
Dictionary of Spanish Literature. New York: Philosophical Library, 1956. - This book aims to serve as an easy reference work for North American students of Spanish American literature. It is concise, factual and objective. [REF PQ6006.N4]
The Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1978. - This book attempts to provide a single alphabetical list of authors and specific works. "The literatures of Portugal and Brazil are excluded, but languages of Spain other than Castillian are represented: Basque, Catalan, and Galican." [REF PQ6006.O95]
Diccionario de Literatura Espanola e Hispanoamericana. Madrid: Alianza Editorial, 1993. - This dictionary has two volumes written in spanish. It strives to provide a comprehensive presentation of literature written in the Castillian language. [REF PQ6006.D6 1993]
Diccionario Encyclopedico de las Letras de America Latina. Caracas: Biblioteca Ayacucho, 1995. - This three volume collection is written in Spanish. It is highly recommended for readers that have a good command of the language. [REF PQ7081.D515 1995]
Encyclopedias
The Feminist Encyclopedia of Spanish Literature. Westport: Greenwood Press, 2002. - This two volume encyclopedia acknowledges the limitations of the title and attempts to provide information that an interested reader would label as "women's studies, gender studies, gynocritics, and feminist criticism." [REF PQ6055.F46 2002]
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature 1900-2003. London: Routledge, 2004. - This single volume includes "more than 1200 alphabetically arranged entries" that cover a wide range of writing in all of the Spanish American countries and Brazil. [REF PQ7081.A1 E558 2004]
Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1997. - "It is not possible to provide a faithful synopsis of anything and certainly not of anything as vast, protean and contentious as the 'literature' of an entire continent." Still, this is a good place to start. [REF PQ7081.A1 E56 1997]
Latin American Writers. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1989. - This three volume set offers the English-speaking world a comprehensive look at the "rich and varied literature of Spanish America and Brazil." [REF PQ7081.A1 L37 1989]
Miscellaneous
Manual de Literatura Hispanoamericana VI. La Epoca Contemporanea: Prosa. Spain: Centil Ediciones, 2007. - The sixth volume is a continuation of three volumes written in Spanish. It provides vast information on major authors as well as those less known authors who are rarely included in textbooks. [REF PQ7081.M28 1991]
Spanish Women Writers: A Bio-Bibliographical Source Book. Westport: Greenwood Press, 1993. - This book includes the works of the best known women writers. It offers "insight into the complex relationships among gender, creativity and social mores." [REF PQ6055.S63 1993]
Dictionary of Mexican Literature. Westport: Greenwood Press, 1992. - This single volume "contains approximately 500 entries in English covering the most important writers, literary schools, and cultural movements in Mexican literary history." [REF PQ7106.D53 1992]
Handbook of Latin American Literature. New York: Garland Publishing, 1992. - A source for general readers "who require a concise information concerning a particular author or work or literary tradition of Latin America." It will also meet the needs of "Hispanic scholars" with more specialized reference questions. [REF PQ7081.A1 H36 1992]
Literatura Hispanoamericana: Una Antologia. New York: Garland Publishing, 1994. - This single volume is written in Spanish. It includes some of the best known literature of Latin America. [REF PQ7083.L59 1994]
Journals
Explicacion de Textos Literarios. - [PER PQ6001.E96]
Hispanic Research Journal. - [PER PQ6001.H49]
Revista de Literatura. - [PER PN6.R48]
Revista de Estudios Hispanicos. - [PER PQ6001.R432]
Revista Hispanica Moderna. - [PER PQ6001.R47]
Spanish Literature Electronic Resources
Databases
Fuente Academica - "is a unique collection of scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers...[which] offers full text content to many academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology."
HAPI - "is your source for over 265,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States."
Latin American Women Writers - brings together "the most important writers from 19 countries, as well as the works of the principal feminists, in one single collection [including] ... literary works, memoirs, feminist essays, and other materials" from the colonial period to the present."
Literature Resource Center - is an "all-inclusive [Gale/InfoTrac] database [that] contains information on both classical and contemporary authors and their works."
Websites
Latin American Networking Information Center (LANIC) - This site has a plethora of information and many links to reliable sources.
Proyecto Cervantes - This site is directed by Dr. Eduardo Urbino of Texas A & M University. It's a reliable source on Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra with many useful links.
Sor Juana Inez de la Cruz Project - This site is sponsored by Dartmouth college and it provides an overview of the famous Mexican writer.
